Bread and Celery Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
I lost my mom's recipe, so I tried this one out. It was great! I made a broth from the giblets/neck and added a few tablespoons of the turkey stock as it cooked and used that instead of the canned broth. I also added 1 egg & the meat from the neck & some giblets - because I know my mom added these to her recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Bowman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Just made this today and it was delicious! I was looking for a recipe close to my mom's and this one looked very similar. I think it turned out even a little better. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Make one pan of cornbread with sage in it and one more cup of broth. Add it to this recipe and you will have Texas Dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by wannabe chefette
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
For so few ingredients this is a very tasty stuffing. I did, however, need to add additional broth. I used homemade chicken stock and added about 2 cups worth. It went into a 9x13 baking pan just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wannabe chefette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winfield, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
I let the bread stay out overnight and might have let it longer even. Aside from that, I followed it to a T and it was simple, easy, fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
I've been making this stuffing for years, and I always get the thumbs down when I even dare to mention trying another stuffing recipe. I also put a pound of mushrooms in this stuffing. Soooo good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
I made this for Thanksgiving yesterday and we loved this recipe. Used vegetable broth to make it vegetarian and added some mushrooms in with the onion and celery as they were sauteing. Wonderful! I will be using this recipe every year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
This was delicious! My guests loved it - I doubled the recipe and cooked it for an hour. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacqui

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Smithfield, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Marlborough, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
My Mom made this as well....and it's the only recipe that my family consistantly loves.With a minor moderation......No chicken broth.....and I add diced mushrooms (adds moisture to the bread with little difference in flavor, so less fat... lol), and I add fresh herbs where possible, so some oregano, fresh savory , thyme etc. My Mom's recipe was kick-butt, she used to save the bacon fat for a week or so (in the fridge) leading up to the preparation of stuffing....and instead of butter, she would add melted bacon fat! My God.......it was amazing. What flavour and so moist......so improvise and enjoy! Add a little of each, butter and bacon drippings. What the heck! It's Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Great, traditional stuffing. Made no changes and was pretty happy with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 689) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread and Celery Stuffing

See how to make a classic stuffing recipe for the Thanksgiving turkey.

Pecan Apricot Stuffing

See how to make this delicious all-purpose stuffing or dressing.

Grandma’s Corn Bread Dressing

See how to make a corn bread dressing flavored with a touch of sage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States