Bread and Celery Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
this recipe is like a big hug from my mom, who has passed away---this is her recipe down to a 'T' and every year when i make it for Thanksgiving, I feel like she's there with me. The stuffing is traditional, not fancy, and (to my way of thinking) perfect in its simplicity. Thank you for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyd_Delve

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamson, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
This has been in our family for 40 year or more. We just keep throwing the heels of bread, bread that died out, uneaten toast, etc in a bag and then crumble or dice it up for thanksgiving stuffing. We add enough broth to make it moist, go easy on the sage, it can taste bitter fast! If in doubt, look at the ingredients in "poultry seasoning" and use less, then add more of the ones on the label that you like the most. We also use raisins in it for a sweet/salty combination. Its usually a hit with everyone unless they are really the diehard cornbread/sausage/nuts type stuffing eaters-ugh. I don't care for how heavy sausage stuffings can be and all the nut allergies make this easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennifer Moreland

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenyon, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
simply delicious!! I didn't add as much broth as I stuffed the turkey with some and then baked the rest on the side. It was just like my mom used to make and my first attempt at home made stuffing! A keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
realy easy to make, made for 40 people, used homemade bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
Really good, but I didn't have all the stuff on hand. Worth making again when I have all the necessary stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
So good! I dried the bread by baking the slices at 350 until lightly golden, then cut it up. Used a full 2 cups chopped celery and 2 cups chopped onion. Used veggie broth to make vegetarian, and added in a handful of chopped fresh parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
I add peanuts. ;]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dani

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Belfair, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
Tastes just like traditional homemade stuffing like I used to eat as a kid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tustin, California, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
very good and much easier than i thought making stuffing would be. I used a loaf of homemade italian bread that i made 2 days before and had to use up. I would not use regular sandwich bread, it would be to soft and soggy. I put this stuffing on top of a couple chicken breasts and cooked it in the oven and was a good simple dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stacey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shanz1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arnold, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Rock Springs, Wyoming, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 683) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bread and Celery Stuffing

See how to make a classic stuffing recipe for the Thanksgiving turkey.

Pecan Apricot Stuffing

See how to make this delicious all-purpose stuffing or dressing.

Grandma’s Corn Bread Dressing

See how to make a corn bread dressing flavored with a touch of sage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States