Bread and Celery Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Photo by wannabe chefette
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
For so few ingredients this is a very tasty stuffing. I did, however, need to add additional broth. I used homemade chicken stock and added about 2 cups worth. It went into a 9x13 baking pan just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wannabe chefette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winfield, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
I let the bread stay out overnight and might have let it longer even. Aside from that, I followed it to a T and it was simple, easy, fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
I've been making this stuffing for years, and I always get the thumbs down when I even dare to mention trying another stuffing recipe. I also put a pound of mushrooms in this stuffing. Soooo good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
I made this for Thanksgiving yesterday and we loved this recipe. Used vegetable broth to make it vegetarian and added some mushrooms in with the onion and celery as they were sauteing. Wonderful! I will be using this recipe every year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
This was delicious! My guests loved it - I doubled the recipe and cooked it for an hour. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacqui

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Smithfield, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Marlborough, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
My Mom made this as well....and it's the only recipe that my family consistantly loves.With a minor moderation......No chicken broth.....and I add diced mushrooms (adds moisture to the bread with little difference in flavor, so less fat... lol), and I add fresh herbs where possible, so some oregano, fresh savory , thyme etc. My Mom's recipe was kick-butt, she used to save the bacon fat for a week or so (in the fridge) leading up to the preparation of stuffing....and instead of butter, she would add melted bacon fat! My God.......it was amazing. What flavour and so moist......so improvise and enjoy! Add a little of each, butter and bacon drippings. What the heck! It's Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Great, traditional stuffing. Made no changes and was pretty happy with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rfeewjlj
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
This is a GREAT recipe for stuffing! The only thing I added was a little bit of sage. Because I cannot eat gluten, I used 1.5 loaves of the Udi white sandwich bread and it worked great! (I removed the crust and toasted cubes in the oven to ensure they were dry enough.) This was the star of our Thanksgiving meal this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Great...did this w/o celery it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
This is a good "basic" stuffing recipe, but like many recipes I made my own little tweaks to it. I cooked the neck & gizzards for about 45 min, in lightly salted water with a teaspoon of poultry seasoning and 1/2 teaspoon of chicken bouillon. I then used that as the broth and took the meat from the neck and chopped it & the gizzards finely to add to the stuffing. I also added a diced apple and 1 large egg beaten. I cooked half in the bird and the other half in a casserole and it turned out great. I've made a lot of stuffing recipes over the years, but this way is by far the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 666) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Bread and Celery Stuffing

See how to make a classic stuffing recipe for the Thanksgiving turkey.

Pecan Apricot Stuffing

See how to make this delicious all-purpose stuffing or dressing.

Grandma’s Corn Bread Dressing

See how to make a corn bread dressing flavored with a touch of sage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States