Bread and Butter Pickles II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
Love bread & butter pickles - but what I had was an abundance of green tomatoes - mostly small, about 2-3 inch diameter & I wanted to make some bread & butter green tomato pickles. I followed this recipe, except for ...I sliced up 5 pints of tomatoes, 1 red pepper, 2 thick slices sweet onion, cut the salt to 1/8 cup, used a tray of large ices cubes while they sat for 3 hours; after heating back to a boil I used a slotted spoon to fill 7 - 1/2 pint (jelly size) jars, filled with brine, sealed and gave them a a 10 minute boil. I think they are GREAT! and my first gifted jar got a good review, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
I typically don't care for bread and butter pickles bought at store... But I'm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
Very good bread and butter pickles. Had to increase the vinegar, sugar, and spices by 50 percent to get enough liquid for safe canning. My pickling cukes were larger than normal this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Old Orchard Beach, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
I have tried this recipe. Its great! I am just wondering can I leave this out of the refrigerator so we can eat them all year?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kedoody
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
This is a great recipe! It was my first attempt at making pickles and I am so happy. I thought the tips about adding ice were great. My pickles are super crisp and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
I have been making these pickles for several years and I always get complements on the great taste. Thanx David for posting this fab recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
I made these today and followed some of the hints that others posted. I put the cucumbers on ice over night. Also I only soaked them in the salt for 1.5 hours. I would wash the salt off the next time as they are a little salty but VERY crisp. I did the hot water bath for 12 minutes. But they are delicious otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shelley Penney
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
I used half green and half red bell peppers. also rinsed some of the salt. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelley Penney

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
Yes it is delicious. It is easy to make and worth making them. This is my second time this month I am canning them. I keep the spices in a tea bay holder so there isn't too many of them in the batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
Five stars, nothing more needs to be said about this recipe. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 188) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Bread and Butter Pickles

Add crunch to your lunch with your own homemade pickles.

Chef John's Bread and Butter Pickles

See how to make easy bread and butter pickles from scratch.

Microwave Bread and Butter Pickles

See how to make crisp, delicious homemade pickles in the microwave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States