Bread and Butter Pickles II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
Delicious and wonderfu! I love that they are ready to eat immediately! I didn't use green pepper, just the cucumbers and onions. My parents came over and saw the jars on the counter (I processed them for canning) and my dad had to try them. He couldn't stop eating them and scooped them into a bowl since he loved them so much! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
These bread and butter pickles are outstanding!! I halved the recipe and used only 2 cups of sugar instead of 2.5. Used ground cloves instead of whole and I also omitted the peppers. I'll definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
This is what I used to make but lost the recipes. I followed Vanessa's suggestions from July, 2010. I used 3 cups sugar, I used ice, and I did not have celery seed,. I used exactly 5 lbs. kriby cukes. I put them in a boiling weater bath since I am the only one eatiing except for an gift or two. I tried them warm also and they are perfect. Just the taste I was looking. I have some juice left over I think I will re soak the ones I made last week. These are really wonderful. Thank you Dave
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
This is a great recipe. It's easy and the pickles are delicious - - just the recipe I've been looking for. I used half of the cukes, onion, and salt (but my cukes and onions were rather large) to a full batch of brine. Instead of green pepper, I used four jalapenos that I sliced very thinly on a mandoline (seeds and all). They added a nice zip. Also, I used a whole head of garlic and sliced it, too, on the mandoline instead of chopping. I did not put the jalapenos and garlic in the salt mixture. Instead, I added them to the boiling brine when I added the cukes and onions. This yielded 7 quart jars. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
I made some minor changes and put my jars in a "bain-marie" or covered water bath for 10 minutes in very hot water to process for non refrigeration. The changes in the recipe were only 3 onions, not 6, no green peppers and 1/4 cup salt. Wonderful and crisp!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Grand Bay, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
Lole, love, love these pickles. Id never made pickles before and these taste like ive been making them for years. As others, i did the syrup with 4 cups sugar instead of 5 and i added 1 tsp. Ginger. I put ice on the cukes while brining and only brined for about2 hrs. Rinsed cukes really, really good. And i also did the hot water bath for canning. These are fabulous!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
We made these and processed them in a water bath for 10 minutes..Yum..We will use this again!! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lovelyfamilyofmine

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Pocatello, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
These were good! I’ve been playing around with a few different types of vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
I was spending almost 5 bucks a jar for the gormet brand at my local market. Not any more thank you this recipe. I ate them up so fast I had to buy more cucumbers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pitchfork

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
These were the best bread and butter pickles I've ever had. I actually added 2 red bell peppers for color. They are beautiful in the jars and taste even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chelly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Bread and Butter Pickles

Add crunch to your lunch with your own homemade pickles.

Microwave Bread and Butter Pickles

See how to make crisp, delicious homemade pickles in the microwave.

How to Make Fried Pickles

These tasty fried appetizers are a Southern favorite—and so easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States