Bread and Butter Pickles II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
This recipe is the best bread and butter pickles recipe i have made. As a food tech student i made this recipe for my testing and trailing for a project on preserves and these bread and butter pickles were by far the best preserve, so i choose to make it for my final preserve. I recommend that if you are deciding to make this recipe or not that you make it because you will be amazed!!! I recommend that you use course salt instead of fine salt though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
These were great! I used red pepper instead of green, because I like them better, but other than that, I didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Willis, Texas, USA
Living In: Conroe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
I have never canned anything in my life...and truth be known, I'm not very good in the kitchen, period, haha...but I wanted to surprise my wife. I found this recipe for pickles and it sounded like something I might be able to tackle. I gotta tell ya....it was EASY and the pickles are the best I've ever tasted!! Since my first attempt I've made 4 more batches, gave some away as gifts and everyone who tries 'em loves 'em! I just wanted to write this review to tell folks out there that if I can make these then...seriously, ANYONE can! Give 'em a try! It don't get any better than these!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
SO YUMMY!! Followed the recipe exactly and they turned out super! Have been giving these out to family and friends and everyone loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nikki_26

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Prospect, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
I have made these pickles twice and they are absolutely delicious. I follow the recipe as written. It is a good idea to rinse the salt off the cucumbers before adding to the brine. I get 4 pint sized jars using around 9 cucumbers. I cut the recipe in half for 9 cukes. I also use pickling spice (just a few sprinkles to the brine).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Guyton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
These are really good but I wish I rinsed the cucumbers of the salt like others suggested. It had a too salty after taste. Very good, but I will either cuz the amount of salt or I will make sure to rinse it next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
So good they are just ridiculous. I did add extra red pepper and some jars I added a homegrown pepper. I also followed the advise of others on the sugar and cut back. Can not wait to make more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
This recipe is awesome! Such a true old fashioned taste! My friends went wild. So did I!! :) I made a second batch with Zucchini and plain white vinegar, only cause that's all I had.. They turned out every bit as awesome as the first batch with cukes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
Wonderful! Used the "sauce" for mixture of hot peppers I had and a few onions. Best I've had! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Elkins, West Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
Absolutely the best Bread & Butter pickles I have made. Very easy and great flavor. I will make these over & over again. Thanks David for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Bread and Butter Pickles

Add crunch to your lunch with your own homemade pickles.

Chef John's Bread and Butter Pickles

See how to make easy bread and butter pickles from scratch.

Microwave Bread and Butter Pickles

See how to make crisp, delicious homemade pickles in the microwave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States