Bread and Butter Pickles II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
My first time to make bread and butter pickles and I was worried they called for too much salt. They were WONDERFUL. perfect balance of flavors, This is going to be my only bread and butter pickle recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
These pickles are FANTASTIC!!! I halved the recipe; used red pepper instead of green for color. I ended up with 4.5 pints.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
This was my first time making these, and I couldn't have asked for better results. I don't usually go for onion, but it works in this recipe. I think the next batch I will skip the onion, make the peppers into slices, and either skip or cut down on the clove. I also put the pickle/veg mixture into the jars before pouring the liquid over them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
Perfect!! Just perfect, beautiful flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
really crisp very good taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
I halved the recipe because I only had 6 cucumbers (about 6-8" long and 2" diameter). I only used cucumbers and onions not the bell peppers and garlic. I did not have celery seed so left it out. I let them stand in the salt mixture with ice on top for about 3 hours, then drained and rinsed. I had just enough for 4 pints which are currently in the water bath to be processed for 15 minutes. I look forward to tasting these in the cold winter months! UPDATE: About 10 weeks later, we opened a jar. These are really good but maybe a tad sweet. The most exciting part is that the cucumbers and onions are still crisp. I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2012
Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
This recipe is the best bread and butter pickles recipe i have made. As a food tech student i made this recipe for my testing and trailing for a project on preserves and these bread and butter pickles were by far the best preserve, so i choose to make it for my final preserve. I recommend that if you are deciding to make this recipe or not that you make it because you will be amazed!!! I recommend that you use course salt instead of fine salt though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
These were great! I used red pepper instead of green, because I like them better, but other than that, I didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Willis, Texas, USA
Living In: Conroe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
I have never canned anything in my life...and truth be known, I'm not very good in the kitchen, period, haha...but I wanted to surprise my wife. I found this recipe for pickles and it sounded like something I might be able to tackle. I gotta tell ya....it was EASY and the pickles are the best I've ever tasted!! Since my first attempt I've made 4 more batches, gave some away as gifts and everyone who tries 'em loves 'em! I just wanted to write this review to tell folks out there that if I can make these then...seriously, ANYONE can! Give 'em a try! It don't get any better than these!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Bread and Butter Pickles

Add crunch to your lunch with your own homemade pickles.

Microwave Bread and Butter Pickles

See how to make crisp, delicious homemade pickles in the microwave.

How to Make Fried Pickles

These tasty fried appetizers are a Southern favorite—and so easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States