Brazilian Whole Banana Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
3.5 stars First, either double the butter/margarine or halve the amount of flour, wheat germ and oats. There is WAY too much topping. Second, the pie looks NOTHING like the picture. The syrup is on bottom. Clearly the picture shown has syrup or some bananas on top. Third, a normal or even deep pie dish is too small unless you halve the dry ingredients. If you use more butter/margarine and keep the dry ingredients the same, be sure to use a 9x13 type baking dish. Fourth, we used 10 bananas and followed the recipe exactly. It's too dry. We used a large 2 qt baking dish which still wasn't big enough. Solution? Add milk and treat is like a sweet banana porridge/oatmeal. It's got potential, but needs tweaking. Also recommend doubling the syrup amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
We liked this pie. I changed the proportions a little to suit our tastes and used butter instead of margarine. Next time I would use more syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
Although the ingredients are healthy, which we try to incorporate into our menu, this wasn't one of our favourites. The "crust" didn't stick together enough and the flavours didn't bake together, so it tasted like eating a banana with crumbly topping. My husband enjoyed it though and did say that it was better cold the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
Made it twice already and it was gobbled down both times! It makes a lot and is very filling and healthy! I wouldn't change a thing with this recipe, it really comes out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Broadview Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
Delicious! I made this for my Brazilian husband. There was something very familar about this dish. An excellent comfort food. I used Olivio spread for the light margarine. I used a 10" cake pan and would recommend doubling the syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa2roberto

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Auburndale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
I thought this recipe was good but not great. I'd make it again but I'd use double the margarine in the topping. It was rather dry. Maybe it was supposed to be that way, I don't know. But I was thinking it was going to be more like an apple crisp type topping so I was a little disappointed. I needed more bananas than called for, but the ones I used were a little on the small side. The taste of everything else was great and I would've rated it higher if it weren't for the topping being so dry. Thanks for a good recipe. I really would like to try it again, just with that modification.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2006
This came out very good. I added coconut for some extra flavor. The only other change I made was to sprinkle the brown sugar on the bottom instead of making a syrup and it still tasted fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2006
Nutritious and delicious! I did have trouble with the melted sugar layer on the bottom, it wouldn't turn into syrup for me so in the end I just sprinkled brown sugar in the bottom of the baking dish which seemed to work just fine. I also wondered exactly what "light margarine" is, I used regular stick margarine and it was great. Works perfectly well with whole grain flours besides wheat (I used barley). Everyone loved it, and were sorry they were too full to eat more! (10 inch spring form pan fits it all well.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2006
This Banana Pie has a very good taste overall, everyone in my family enjoyed it. Very clean and fresh tasting. It would be great with Vanilla Ice Cream. The baking dish needs to be an 9" x 13" because I could barely fit it into a 2 Qt baking dish. The recipe makes a bunch so someone with smaller needs might be better off halfing the recipe. Try it you will like it. Easy to make also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Joseph, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2006
Kinda like banana crisp.... Most excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gipsy, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cherry Tree, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Blackberry Pie I

See how to make a simple pie using fresh or frozen blackberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States