Brazilian White Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
OMG!!! So... I hate rice but needed a side to go with the spinach stuffed chicken (also on this site) for my to male roommates. It was perfect! I mean even i ate a lot. Also there was just enough leftover for fried rice later this week! The rice was soooo good. I love it and will use it for the rest of my cooking life!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brown001suga

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
As brazilian, I have to agree: "This is the best white rice recipe ever!". I also learned from my mom when I was 8 and have been doing it for 42 years now. My american husband loves it! The traditional brazilian white rice only uses oil, garlic, sal, water and rice, of course. But it's ok to add a couple of your favorite spices, like onions. It is a matter of taste. Nandabear is right: For brazilians, the idea of sticky-gooey rice is simply repulsive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
A nice alternative to just plain white rice. I used 1/2 chicken broth and 1/2 water. I think next time I will cut down on or eliminate the added salt if I use chicken broth again. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockaway, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2009
This is my new way of preparing white rice! It's not drastically different from regular white rice but it's like an enhanced version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
I would try a little adobo for the seasoning in this recipe. I would also change the time to check on the rice after 25 minutes and stir, then let sit on the heat for another 10 minutes. Overall though, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nallerylicardie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Franklin Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2009
For a simple white rice side dish, this was better than just cooking it in plain water. I used chicken broth instead of water like other reviewers mentioned. I also used dried garlic and onion powder since I didn't have the real thing on hand. Either way it came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dancing Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
I made this according to directions and while it wasn't unpleasant tasting, neither was it very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Citrus Punch
Home Town: Wilton, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2009
I thought this was pretty good. Adds nice flavor to just plain old rice. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streamwood, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2009
I am Brazilian and growing up my aunt would make the most fabulous yet simple white rice and I could never duplicate it in my adult years. Until now! I followed this recipe completely and it came out spectacular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2009
I hate rice, it's so plain and boring and I always mess it up every time, but this was great! It was subtle enough to still work as a side, there was a little too much liquid but I took the lid off a little early to stir it and it came out fine. So much more fun than plain rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Killion

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 281) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Perfect White Rice

Discover the simple tricks to making perfect rice without a rice cooker.

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States