Brazilian White Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
Thank you, Nanda, for a great recipe! The water did not all absorb for me, put I think I need to use a better pan next time with a tighter fitting lid. I simmered for 10 more minutes than stated and it was fine. We ate this with Hawaiian Chili from this site. Thanks for the satisfying, yummy meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patrick Luce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
What a simple but savory way to make rice! I followed the recipe exactly, except I had no onion and subbed a shallot, and the instructions and timing are perfect--my rice wasn't sticky! The flavor is delicious as is, but this will become a base for other dishes, with endless possibilities for additions. Thank you for sharing a family treasure, Nandabear.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
Nanda, I'm so happy to be the very first to review your recipe! My rice loving kids gave this an immediate thumbs up. I halved the rice; basmati in this case, but kept the garlic and onion amounts the same. Also replaced the veg oil with evoo. This went great with the pepper steak I made. Thank so much darlin'!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
This was a really good variation for boring plain white rice. I used shallots instead of onions because I already had some chopped for another recipe and they worked great. Thanks for a great, simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: New Bloomfield, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
This is a perfect way to change up regular old rice. I didn/t measure the onions and used 3 smallish cloves of garlic and it was perfect! Wonderful that it didn't stick together! I will make this all the time! I did add a splash of veingar to mine as I ate it.....I am just wierd like that! Thanks Nanda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2007
Very nice & simple rice dish. I soaked some brown basmati rice, for a little health touch, then cooked as directed in the recipe, using a bit of extra chicken broth I had with the water. Did a little fusion cooking tonight serving Brazilian rice with Cherry Chicken Lettuce Wraps and they went well together. Thanks for the recipe, Nandabear!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
Oh Nanda, this was delicious! As everyone else said, it is a good way to spice up boring old rice. We put in extra garlic as a personal preference. Very good as a side dish, or a light lunch all on its own. Mine seemed to make a lot for leftovers, so I put the rest in chicken soup the next day and it livened up boring old broth too. Definitely a keeper recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Photo by Janine
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
Nandabear, thank you for this wonderful recipe! Who could ask for anything more out of plain white rice? My husband and I are big rice eaters and we were just talking about how this is such a perfect taste for adding in other ingredients that we like from time to time. I was desperate to make this dish tonight but I only had the 10 minute boil in bag rice in the cabinet, but no fear! I just opened the bags and reduced the simmering time and it worked perfectly! Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Lure, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
I love cooking rice this way! Made the perfect pot of rice. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michaela
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
This rice was GREAT!! I'm not a huge rice fan, but I kept avidly eating these! I served them with spicy Indian chicken which I made, and the rice was absolutely delicious with it. My mother never knew that you could fry the rice before using water. We will definetly be making this in the future. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michaela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: St. Petersburg, St. Petersburg (Federal City), Russia
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 281) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Perfect White Rice

Discover the simple tricks to making perfect rice without a rice cooker.

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States