Brazilian White Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Holiday Baker
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
I had about given up on making rice on the stove top and bought a rice cooker. I thought I would give it another try with this recipe. I am so glad I did, because this was really good. I thought maybe it would taste too much of onion or garlic, but it didn't. I did half the recipe and still around 2 cups of rice. Half the recipe makes about 3 servings. The only change I might make for next time is cutting the salt back some. I will definitely try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
Made this tonight, browned the rice, onions and garlic at the same time, and used half water, half chicken broth as others suggested. EXCELLENT!! Hubby likes it, I like it, the kids like it! And the rice is loose and fluffy, not sticky like I normally make! Definite keeper, thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
Very nice side dish. My mom is from Brazil but has a heavier hand with the garlic and the onion (PLUS adding garlic and onion powders!!). Nice change from your standard plain white rice. I halved my recipe as we only have four and used olive oil instead of veggie oil. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arizona Desert Flower

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
A good way of making rice without getting too complicated -- I do recommend using part chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
One word.....Outstanding!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
mild taste but good when paired with something
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimnic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicopee, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
This was so delicious!! I did use chicken stock instead of water, but otherwise I followed all measurements. It was a great side dish to chicken scampi. Flavorful, but not overpowering. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by atrublkqueen
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
This was a WONDERFUL recipe! I did add additional garlic and onion and used chicken stock instead of just water, and it tasted wonderful! Thank you so much for an awesome recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by atrublkqueen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Opelika, Alabama, USA
Living In: Hurst, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
The onion/garlic flavor was pretty weak. Still tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
I am from The Bahamas and I tried this dish today. It was delicious. It is easy and simple, but has a flavor. I added some thyme and a little curry powder to it, just for a little more flavor. It was excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 281) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Perfect White Rice

Discover the simple tricks to making perfect rice without a rice cooker.

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States