Brazilian White Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Suemck
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2007
Nan, this rice is absolutely delicious. Light, fluffy, and so flavorful compared to plain old white rice. I served Sweet N Sour Pork Chops over this and it was so good. Thanks, Nan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suemck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plaistow, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Amesbury, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
I love this! Simple, yet tasty. I did add more garlic and I used half chicken stock. Frying the rice gives it a nice, subtle flavor. and so easy, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
This was a simple yet tasty rice dish. I doubled the onion and garlic because we really love these flavors. The rice turned out very fluffy and flavorful. Thank you, Nandabear, for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
Oh Nanda, this was delicious! As everyone else said, it is a good way to spice up boring old rice. We put in extra garlic as a personal preference. Very good as a side dish, or a light lunch all on its own. Mine seemed to make a lot for leftovers, so I put the rest in chicken soup the next day and it livened up boring old broth too. Definitely a keeper recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Photo by Janine
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
Nandabear, thank you for this wonderful recipe! Who could ask for anything more out of plain white rice? My husband and I are big rice eaters and we were just talking about how this is such a perfect taste for adding in other ingredients that we like from time to time. I was desperate to make this dish tonight but I only had the 10 minute boil in bag rice in the cabinet, but no fear! I just opened the bags and reduced the simmering time and it worked perfectly! Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Lure, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
I love cooking rice this way! Made the perfect pot of rice. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michaela
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
This rice was GREAT!! I'm not a huge rice fan, but I kept avidly eating these! I served them with spicy Indian chicken which I made, and the rice was absolutely delicious with it. My mother never knew that you could fry the rice before using water. We will definetly be making this in the future. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michaela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: St. Petersburg, St. Petersburg (Federal City), Russia
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
This ia a simple and great way to make rice so special! Nice and fluffy not sticky! I served it with Tasty Green Beans (from this site). What a great pair! This my new "beans and rice"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Akron, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
This rice came out the perfect texture. Nice and fluffy, every grain separate and it looked fabulous. I cut the rice and water in half for just the 3 of us, but left the onion/garlic the same. I used Basmati rice as I didn't have regular white on hand. I really liked this dish and will make it again. Thanks Nandabear, this is fab! UPDATE: I made this again and doubled the onion and garlic. My DH commented on the rice and said how good it is. He isn't really a rice eater so for him to say anything is saying a whole lot. He even had seconds! For that I have to give this 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
Simple and delicious. My son had three helpings!! Thank you Nanda for another way to cook rice!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Metta Karuna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Hiawatha, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Florham Park, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 281) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Perfect White Rice

Discover the simple tricks to making perfect rice without a rice cooker.

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States