Brazilian White Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
This simple little twist on basic white rice is like putting whipped cream and a cherry on an ice cream sundae. It's still the same, but delightfully enhanced. To give the recipe it's proper chance, I made it exactly as written--with the exception of using olive oil for the vegetable oil-- and we were simply delighted. There will be other opportunities in the future to play with it, assuming I'd even want to. I served this with "Baked Orange Roughy with Veggies" (also from this site) and sauteed baby spinach. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
209 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
What a simple but savory way to make rice! I followed the recipe exactly, except I had no onion and subbed a shallot, and the instructions and timing are perfect--my rice wasn't sticky! The flavor is delicious as is, but this will become a base for other dishes, with endless possibilities for additions. Thank you for sharing a family treasure, Nandabear.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
This is a perfect way to change up regular old rice. I didn/t measure the onions and used 3 smallish cloves of garlic and it was perfect! Wonderful that it didn't stick together! I will make this all the time! I did add a splash of veingar to mine as I ate it.....I am just wierd like that! Thanks Nanda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
Nanda, I'm so happy to be the very first to review your recipe! My rice loving kids gave this an immediate thumbs up. I halved the rice; basmati in this case, but kept the garlic and onion amounts the same. Also replaced the veg oil with evoo. This went great with the pepper steak I made. Thank so much darlin'!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
WOW!! This was a VERY nice way to jazz up white rice! I usually only buy brown rice but this was suggested to me so I bought white rice to try it! I followed the recipe as is and it turned out perfect! My hubs kept telling me how wonderful it smelled while I was cooking it! So glad Crazy Cat Lady "CCL" and K-dub recommened this to me because honestly I would haven't come across the dish myself! I'll be making this dish again!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerstin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2007
Very nice & simple rice dish. I soaked some brown basmati rice, for a little health touch, then cooked as directed in the recipe, using a bit of extra chicken broth I had with the water. Did a little fusion cooking tonight serving Brazilian rice with Cherry Chicken Lettuce Wraps and they went well together. Thanks for the recipe, Nandabear!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2007
This rice was so easy to make,it was so good I did add 2 more tablespoons each of minced onion,garlic,1 more tablespoon oil,1 tablespoon of parsly, I add some shrimp and if I could I would give this rice 100 stares
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bucket of cookies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
I made this for my clients and they really liked it! I didn't get to taste it, but they gave it the thumbs up! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsRPM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Duncan, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
Thank you, Nanda, for a great recipe! The water did not all absorb for me, put I think I need to use a better pan next time with a tighter fitting lid. I simmered for 10 more minutes than stated and it was fine. We ate this with Hawaiian Chili from this site. Thanks for the satisfying, yummy meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patrick Luce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
I always make this rice as a side dish very good but I don't add salt I use chicken bouillon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 92evelyn

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: West Covina, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 279) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Perfect White Rice

Discover the simple tricks to making perfect rice without a rice cooker.

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States