Brazilian White Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
Saute'ing til "starting to brown" took longer than I expected, but was very worth the wait. The cooking technique resulted in a very nice garlic-y, nutty flavored rice, that would pair well with tons of recipes, as well as be a good base for a main-dish rice recipe, too. I used Jasmine rice and served with a rich Artichoke Chicken recipe and fresh Garlic green beans. Delicious together! Thank you, Nandabear, for a *best* recipe for white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA
Photo by PamMar
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
I never knew rice could be so good. You don't even need butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PamMar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Wellington, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
This is an excellent rice recipe! Don't forget to add a full teaspoon of salt as that is the magic that makes this dish. I found that 4 cups of water is a bit too much since I like my rice firm and fluffy, not sticky so I reduced my amount to 3 1/2 cups. I used Basmati rice and it was flavorful and perfect! You won't be disappointed with this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie's Best

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
This is a good variation for plain rice. I followed the recipe exactly. The rice wasn`t sticky and had an interesting flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
This was excellent! We made it exactly as written and thought it had a wonderful flavor. We'll definitely make it again. We had it with the baked orange roughy with veggies (also on allrecipes) and the two were terrific together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Quarryville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
This was fantastic & super easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
This rice reminds the way my Mom makes her rice. The onions and garlic give a good flavor. Here are my changes: basmati rice instead of white and olive oil instead of vegetable oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
The flavor of this rice is phenomenal! this is the only way i make rice now. thanks for sharing a new way of cooking plain white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
this is how i make brazilian rice (mother is brazilian), so i know it is good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
I took advice of other reviewers and used chicken broth instead of water. My chicken broth was NOT low sodium, so when I added the salt, it became a little too salty for my tastes. I will make this again as beyond my mistake it has a very good flavor. Thank you for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by banshezmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Middletown, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 141-150 (of 274) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Perfect White Rice

Discover the simple tricks to making perfect rice without a rice cooker.

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States