Brazilian Style Flan (Pudim de Leite Condensado) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
The caramel took a lot longer then 10 minutes but was well worth the wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
Made this on the spur of the moment. I lived in Brazil and love their food. I was always afraid to make this but it turned out to be relatively easy and came out fantastic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nutley, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Flanders, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
There is a much easier recipe...My husband is brasilian and his mother has been making this recipe for 70 years...Take a metal bundt pan place 1 cup of sugar.. We use more for extra syrup...Place on stove.. Heating sugar to a syrup...stirring aprox...15 minutes...swirl syrup in bundt pan covering sides...place in a glass pan of water... about half way up your bundt.. Place in a blender 12 eggs...3 cans condensed milk 14oz...3 cans of milk...(using your condensed cans)blend for 5 minutes..pour into bundt pan..Bake for 90minutes... on 400 degrees.Refrigerate at least 12hours... You can make different sizes...But this is the holy grail...If your blender doesnt hold it all ,you can pour part in a bowl..I have done both and it comes out the same.even if the ingrediants are uneven to start...There is less pans..No towels..No separating eggs...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
This is definitely not for a beginner! It was a very difficult recipe but it turned out delicious! The syrup was hard to make, mine ended up being really hard when I poured it into the dish and didn't cover the whole dish but after it came out of the oven it was perfect just like the picture. It also took a very long time to cook I did it for 45 minutes at 350 and it was still liquid so I did it for another 45 minutes at 400 and it came out perfect. I also recommend using a small round dish, the one I used was a little too big so my flan came out very thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
Followed the recipe exactly. Cooked it at the specified temperature, with a water bath, covered for the recommended amount of time (45 minutes). The flan did not turn out as a custard, but rather glorified scrambled eggs in a ramekin. I've never had trouble with custards cooked in a water bath before. This was very disappointing, I hate wasting food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
This is a great recipe, and I make it at almost every gathering and holiday! I do make it a bit differently. You can get air bubbles if the oven temperature is too high or water in water bath is not enough. I like mine very smooth, and my husband likes it with bubbles. So I make it both ways. I do add water to my syrup and sometimes few drops of vanilla too. Once it's cool, I freeze the syrup so it doesn't mix with flan mixture. I blend 1 can of sweet condensed milk, 1 can (I just use can as measurement) of milk and 3 eggs. I don't separate my eggs, and I find that I like 3 eggs instead of 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
Delicious flan. I'll have to try some in Brazil on my next visit. My only complaint is that the sugar took FOREVER to turn to syrup. I was stirring for more like 25 minutes next time I will turn up the heat and hope I don't burn it. (edit) I had flan in Brazil many times during my recent visit and this is the real thing. If you have some Brazilian friends for whom you'd like to make a classic Brazilian desert you can't go wrong with this. I recommend topping it with super fine coconut shreds for the real deal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~Plu~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lucerne, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
I LOVE THIS. But it is difficult to make for a new cook or an inexperienced kitchen diver. The carmel can burn and getting the right consistency is scary. But once you make this a few times (For me it was at least 5) you can feel the confidence and enjoy the perfect taste. A recipe that is brillant and beautiful. Obrigada!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Salads4me

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
Very tasty! I split it into 5 ramekins for individual servings. The only issue is that mine had tiny air bubbles...why?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stephanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Flan was super delicious. I would use more sugar to get extra caramel sauce. It took about 15 minutes to become syrupy. I turned the flan after 2 hours of cooling off but it did not flip as nicely. Next time I will refrigerate it first. I can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spanish Flan

This creamy flan custard will become everyone's favorite dessert.

How to Make Coconut Flan

See how to put a tropical twist on traditional flan.

Baked Flan

See how to make a simple flan with a creamy, custardy texture.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States