Brazilian Fish Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
Fabulous stew. I would recommend a few tweaks: The listed amount of bell peppers is a bit much. Half the amount of bell peppers is more than enough. I'd also do half red, half yellow bell peppers for added color. As well, I'd recommend a fish that is more firm/less flaky than tilapia. I used cod and it turned out great. Finally, a pinch of chili flakes for an extra bit of zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
193 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
This recipe was excellent. It was relatively easy to make and didn't take much time. I used more than the recommended lime which I would suggest. This fish stew could have as easily passed as a Thai recipe. If you like Thai food try this dish. I am also going to make this again substituting the fish with shrimp or chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
I'm from Brazil, and this is one of my fave dishes. I personally don't use garlic on fishes... It kind of is a bit "too much". Also, that amount of pepper is used by Northern people more than at other parts of the country., but if you like it... :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tuttifruttigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rio De Janeiro, Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Julie
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
This is more like 4.5 stars. I have a local place here that does this style cooking in a muqueca (clay pot) I don't have a clay pot but still wanted to make it and found this recipe to closest to what my restaurant does. I made this with mahi. It held up very well in the pot. I would suggest using it since other fish may flake easy. I didn't have actual cumin but added a dash of adobo which does. I also added chopped green onion for more color. I only used 1 red bell pepper. I wouldn't think you would need more then 2 peppers cause they tended to take away from the coconut milk flavor. I served it over some basmati rice and garlic bread for dipping and we were happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bristol, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
Yum! My recommended changes are: replace tilapia with cod, esp. dried cod that's been soaked overnight beforehand; add 1 large potato and 1 large tomato; reduce the green peppers by 2-3; and squeezing lime juice onto it at the end or just before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allen Park, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
YUM! I had a nasty cold and a lot of haddock on hand and I wanted a spicy fish stew recipe to help clear my head. This was perfect! I used haddock for the fish, and I didn't have any bell peppers, so I used zucchini. The citrusy flavor is wonderful and along with a few added dashes of hot sauce it really helped my cold. I ate two bowls full! I will definitely make more of this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
This was great. I didn't have coconut milk so I used skim milk plus about a Tablespoon of sugar. It's probably not the same as coconut milk, but still yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shik shak shok :]
Reviewed: May 6, 2010
I loved this! I used 13oz of tomatoes and coconut milk because that is what I had on hand and only one yellow bell pepper (not a fan), and it was still perfect! I'll definitely being using this regularly, it was easy to make and cheap.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shik shak shok :]

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
My family loves this stew. It is a different and delicious way to enjoy tilapia which we eat quite a lot of. The only thing I changed was that I left out the peppers as we don't really like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
Delicious AS WRITTEN! Love the mild flavor of the tilapia and added four fillets whole and they broke up into nice chunks on their own. Also, used a half of a large yellow onion and a bag of Trader Joe's frozen diced mixed peppers (yellow, red & green)! Wish I had leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer C.
Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 228) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sexy Fish Stew

Make a simple, delicious white fish stew with leeks, fennel, and potatoes.

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Brazilian Feijoada

See how to make a flavorful black bean, bacon, and sausage stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States