Brazilian Fish Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
Fabulous stew. I would recommend a few tweaks: The listed amount of bell peppers is a bit much. Half the amount of bell peppers is more than enough. I'd also do half red, half yellow bell peppers for added color. As well, I'd recommend a fish that is more firm/less flaky than tilapia. I used cod and it turned out great. Finally, a pinch of chili flakes for an extra bit of zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
198 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
This recipe was excellent. It was relatively easy to make and didn't take much time. I used more than the recommended lime which I would suggest. This fish stew could have as easily passed as a Thai recipe. If you like Thai food try this dish. I am also going to make this again substituting the fish with shrimp or chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
I'm from Brazil, and this is one of my fave dishes. I personally don't use garlic on fishes... It kind of is a bit "too much". Also, that amount of pepper is used by Northern people more than at other parts of the country., but if you like it... :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tuttifruttigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rio De Janeiro, Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Julie
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
This is more like 4.5 stars. I have a local place here that does this style cooking in a muqueca (clay pot) I don't have a clay pot but still wanted to make it and found this recipe to closest to what my restaurant does. I made this with mahi. It held up very well in the pot. I would suggest using it since other fish may flake easy. I didn't have actual cumin but added a dash of adobo which does. I also added chopped green onion for more color. I only used 1 red bell pepper. I wouldn't think you would need more then 2 peppers cause they tended to take away from the coconut milk flavor. I served it over some basmati rice and garlic bread for dipping and we were happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bristol, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
Yum! My recommended changes are: replace tilapia with cod, esp. dried cod that's been soaked overnight beforehand; add 1 large potato and 1 large tomato; reduce the green peppers by 2-3; and squeezing lime juice onto it at the end or just before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allen Park, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
YUM! I had a nasty cold and a lot of haddock on hand and I wanted a spicy fish stew recipe to help clear my head. This was perfect! I used haddock for the fish, and I didn't have any bell peppers, so I used zucchini. The citrusy flavor is wonderful and along with a few added dashes of hot sauce it really helped my cold. I ate two bowls full! I will definitely make more of this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
This was great. I didn't have coconut milk so I used skim milk plus about a Tablespoon of sugar. It's probably not the same as coconut milk, but still yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shik shak shok :]
Reviewed: May 6, 2010
I loved this! I used 13oz of tomatoes and coconut milk because that is what I had on hand and only one yellow bell pepper (not a fan), and it was still perfect! I'll definitely being using this regularly, it was easy to make and cheap.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shik shak shok :]

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
My family loves this stew. It is a different and delicious way to enjoy tilapia which we eat quite a lot of. The only thing I changed was that I left out the peppers as we don't really like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
Delicious AS WRITTEN! Love the mild flavor of the tilapia and added four fillets whole and they broke up into nice chunks on their own. Also, used a half of a large yellow onion and a bag of Trader Joe's frozen diced mixed peppers (yellow, red & green)! Wish I had leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer C.
Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 236) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sexy Fish Stew

Make a simple, delicious white fish stew with leeks, fennel, and potatoes.

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States