Brazilian Fish Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
Very nice, great taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
This recipe was excellent. It was relatively easy to make and didn't take much time. I used more than the recommended lime which I would suggest. This fish stew could have as easily passed as a Thai recipe. If you like Thai food try this dish. I am also going to make this again substituting the fish with shrimp or chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
This was pretty good, but I only used 3 peppers and that was plenty and added some shrimp since my fish fell apart! Plus I used cornstarch to thicken the liquid into a sauce. Perhaps it needs just a bit of a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
very tasty. i will be making some adjustments next time i make it, but overall a very easy quick dinner. my 5-yr-old even ate it up! woohoo!! *********adjustments********* added 1 tbsp salt to the onions while they are simmering. did a 13 oz can of coconut milk and a 14 oz of tomatoes and it was fine. added 1 tsp of curry. delish! i also took frozen tilapia that was thawed enough, but not all the way through. it held up in the stew perfectly. put in an extra tbsp of lime juice, it was fabulous. perhaps next time i will add some pinapple while serving. yum! definite FAVORITE in the fam now. thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by veronicaintexas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Julie
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
This is more like 4.5 stars. I have a local place here that does this style cooking in a muqueca (clay pot) I don't have a clay pot but still wanted to make it and found this recipe to closest to what my restaurant does. I made this with mahi. It held up very well in the pot. I would suggest using it since other fish may flake easy. I didn't have actual cumin but added a dash of adobo which does. I also added chopped green onion for more color. I only used 1 red bell pepper. I wouldn't think you would need more then 2 peppers cause they tended to take away from the coconut milk flavor. I served it over some basmati rice and garlic bread for dipping and we were happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bristol, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2009
This recipe was absolutely amazing! Everyone Loved it and it's an automatic do again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Minsk, Minsk, Belarus
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
Total keeper. Incredible flavor for such a simple recipe. Even better on the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
This was a fabulous dish. My husband is not much of a fan of fish, but he ate plenty of this. My only regret is that I couldn't find my paprika while I was making this and it did seem to need something more. Won't hold my lost spice against it though. :) Loved how simple it was to prepare, and was surprised that something so simple was a flavorful as it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
This was an easy, delicious recipe - flavorful, aromatic and pleasant on teh eye. I didn't have bell peppers so I used broccoli, and I had two tomatoes from the garden that needed to be used so I substituted those for the canned. I love Tom Ka Kai soup, and this reminds me of that. I'm not a fish fan, but was not offended by having it in this recipe. Next time I will try with chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
Try with chicken... very flavorful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 236) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sexy Fish Stew

Make a simple, delicious white fish stew with leeks, fennel, and potatoes.

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States