Brazilian Fish Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by Lucas77
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
This was AMAZING & So Simple!! I Used Frozen Tilapia & Frozen Shrimp. It was a "What Do I have in The Freezer to Cook up Fast Day". I found this recipe & made a Couple Changes. I added one Red Pepper & Half a Green Pepper & Only Half a Yellow Onion . I Juiced 2 Lemon's & Marinated my still FROZEN Fish & I Quickly thawed out the Shrimp took the tail's off added the Seasoning's Covered it & put in the Fridge for 20 Minute's then Followed the direction's. It was Amazing & It did not have a Strong Fish Taste. The Flavors really Complimented one another GREAT!! will make this again & again. I added some Sliced Avacados & served with Rice & warm Tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucas77

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Did I read it right...that's all the salt?? I added a little less than a teaspoon at the broth stage. I thought it was just too bland before that. I also adjusted the bell pepper by half and used a light coconut milk. I used cod, and must agree with the reviewers who rec a sturdier fish. Other than this, I thought it was a good dish with lots of flavor. I can't wait to try authentic moqueca!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
Even better with a little fish sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
Ended up using cod and added a carrot. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dreygan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
This stew turned out so much tastier than I expected I just had to add a review. I followed the recipe almost exactly, though I halved the amount (which ended up being enough for 2 people to have dinner plus 1 bowl of leftover). I don't think the exactly kind of fish matters, any mild white fish will do. The cilantro really completes this dish so I would strongly recommend not leaving that out. My boyfriend could not get over how awesome this soup was, I will definitely be making it again, and next time I will leave the recipe at its full 6 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
This turned out really good for us. It was easy to make and made a lot. The only problem for us was that it seemed very rich so a little went a long way. Still it is a good recipe and a great one for someone who might not like fish very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
We just had this stew for dinner tonight and I must say it was fabulous...will def add it to my rotation. Ok now for my variations: we love bell peppers but I agree with the other posters 4 seemed to be too much. I used 1 large red pepper and 1/2 green pepper and it bordered on too much...next time will use 1/2 red and 1/2 green. The diced tomatoes & coconut milk only came in 13.5 oz cans so I added 1/2 8 oz can of coconut water. Also I love the sweetness of scallions so I used 1 yellow onion and 6 green scallions. Finally, the seafood I used was Red Snapper, Whiting and shrimp (that's what I had on hand) and they held up perfectly! Next time I think I'll substitute lemongrass for the cumin for a true Thai flare...so glad to have found this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
Solid dish. Catfish fillets were on sale at the store and it went well with the stew. I added half a tablespoon of red pepper to give it a little kick and halved the bell peppers. Everyone that had it loved the taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
Looks great! I will definitely try this. Let's keep getting the word out about how great tilapia is; the most eco-friendly fish and tastes great too! If you live in a warm climate you can easily raise your own too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
This recipe is a keeper for sure! It was sooo yummy! I was a little hesitant because although I like some fish, I'm not a huge seafood lover and "fish stew" just sounded so... fishy. But it really wasn't, and I'm so glad I tried it. Instead of on the stove, I just threw everything in my slow cooker and set it on high for 2.5 hours. I accidently used twice the amount of diced tomatoes, but it still turned out great! It was perfect with quinoa... I can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 227) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sexy Fish Stew

Make a simple, delicious white fish stew with leeks, fennel, and potatoes.

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Brazilian Feijoada

See how to make a flavorful black bean, bacon, and sausage stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States