Brazilian Fish Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
Absolutely amazing. I've done this a couple of times and I am poor at following recipes. When I followed this exactly I ended up with a superb meal. In the past I've ruined it by over measuring the fresh lime juice. When I followed the amount used in the recipe it made all the difference in the world. Love this meal and am interested to see if it freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by niftytoo
Home Town: Rifle, Colorado, USA
Living In: Glenwood Springs, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Oh my goodness. Delicious. I used a can of tomatoes with green chiles and another 1/2 can of tomatoes. I also increased all other ingredients as I had 32 oz of fish to feed a large amount of people. Slivered the onions rather than chopped. I also used 1 2/3 cans of coconut milk as we like it soupier. Ladled over jasmine rice. Fed a table of 10 and EVERYONE loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Clarksville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
I made this dish tonight but I tweaked it a bit. I took advice from other reviewers and used only 2 peppers (one green and one yellow). Marinated the fish for 2 hours. Also, I only had a 13 oz can of coconut milk and a 14 oz can of diced tomatoes but it still came out amazing!! I will definitely make it again but using a different fish with a stronger flavor because I used the Tilapia and it was too mild.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
used shrimp and tilapia and just tilapia, both good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
Super delicious! Lots of flavor. I only used half a green bell pepper and one onion. Oh so yummy when served with Jasmine rice. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
Wow !! This was good !! Amazing flavors and very easy to make! Used both tilapia and haddock, only used three peppers and added a can of black beans. Will definitely make this again !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
Omg amazing. I had a surplus of tilapia and stumbled across this recipe. I read all reviews as I usually do for tips, could not find 1 bad review. I added everything that was suggested as far as veges. So ended up with adding extra lime juice in marinade and about a pound of shrimp, along with a couple pinches of red pepper flakes. Let it sit at least an hour,let onions quick fry for a min then added 1 slided carrot,small chopped broccoli crown,1diced potato, 1- 1/2 diced red pepper, added the marinated fish and shrimp, then the tomatos along with a couple diced fresh. So very flavorful, my husband and grown son raved. Will absolutely do this 1 again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
Fabulous! Since I am allergic to coconut, I used sit milk instead and that worked out really well. I reduced the amout of bell peppers to 1 red pepper and 1/2 yellow (for am amount for 3). The stew was flavorful and spicy, and I am a fan of the way the tilaoia flaked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
I am Brazilian and I have been trying to find an "american version" of the muqueca "fish/ sea food stew " to prepare for my hubby for a while. I was over excited when I saw this recipe here. I changed a few things though, I used 10 oz of salmon fillets instead since it was all the fish I had and a sea food combination mix of squid, mussel and shrimp. I also used 3 peppers instead of 4, one green, one yellow and one red and last but not least, I used parsley instead of cilantro. Needless to say it turned out delicious! My husband doesn't even like sea food but he LOVED this meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
I'm hard to please, but this simplified recipe is a winner. Doesn't take much time to prepare and cook, and the hearty mixture is truly delicious. I didn't make any changes to the recipe;next time I'd like to add potatoes. My partner is from Brazil and after eating this plate, he posted on facebook the picture of the dish and a rating of 10/10! Enjoy guys!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 243) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sexy Fish Stew

Make a simple, delicious white fish stew with leeks, fennel, and potatoes.

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States