Brazilian Fish Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
It was a very nice change. We eat a lot of tilapia and it is easy to get in a rut of fixing the same menu all the time. I agree with others that 4 bell peppers would have been too much. I did add some crushed red peppers, but it could have used a little more. I was apprehensive about this being too sweet, but it was just right. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Yummy. LOVED the broth flavor-the lime really added a nice flavor. Too many peppers. Maybe I would try it with some white beans and less peppers next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb Forrence Worth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
After reading the reviews, I added some mushrooms and used 3 peppers instead of 4. Also, I used fire roasted tomatoes and I added a fresh jalapeno with the seeds for a kick. I'm not a fan of coconut milk so opted for 2% evaporated milk instead (2 cans). Overall, I really enjoyed it! I didn't find that I needed to add any additional seasonings either which is rare for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
I cut the peppers in half and doubled the lime. Still, this was good but was missing something to me. Some mango hot sauce fixed it right up. Very good over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
I made this before and followed the recipe exactly without all of the peppers (just one red pepper).It turned out ok,well this time i used light coconut milk and 2 cups of chicken broth just to make it soupier.I made the mistake of using curry instead of cumin but it came out just as good,if not better.Just too spicy for our little ones,but when i make this only my husband and I enjoy it anyway so..overall this is a keeper and very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monique1977

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cassatt, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
Absolutely amazing. I've done this a couple of times and I am poor at following recipes. When I followed this exactly I ended up with a superb meal. In the past I've ruined it by over measuring the fresh lime juice. When I followed the amount used in the recipe it made all the difference in the world. Love this meal and am interested to see if it freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by niftytoo
Home Town: Rifle, Colorado, USA
Living In: Glenwood Springs, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Oh my goodness. Delicious. I used a can of tomatoes with green chiles and another 1/2 can of tomatoes. I also increased all other ingredients as I had 32 oz of fish to feed a large amount of people. Slivered the onions rather than chopped. I also used 1 2/3 cans of coconut milk as we like it soupier. Ladled over jasmine rice. Fed a table of 10 and EVERYONE loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Clarksville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
I made this dish tonight but I tweaked it a bit. I took advice from other reviewers and used only 2 peppers (one green and one yellow). Marinated the fish for 2 hours. Also, I only had a 13 oz can of coconut milk and a 14 oz can of diced tomatoes but it still came out amazing!! I will definitely make it again but using a different fish with a stronger flavor because I used the Tilapia and it was too mild.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
used shrimp and tilapia and just tilapia, both good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
Super delicious! Lots of flavor. I only used half a green bell pepper and one onion. Oh so yummy when served with Jasmine rice. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 228) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Sexy Fish Stew

Make a simple, delicious white fish stew with leeks, fennel, and potatoes.

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Brazilian Feijoada

See how to make a flavorful black bean, bacon, and sausage stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States