Brazilian Fish Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
We just had this stew for dinner tonight and I must say it was fabulous...will def add it to my rotation. Ok now for my variations: we love bell peppers but I agree with the other posters 4 seemed to be too much. I used 1 large red pepper and 1/2 green pepper and it bordered on too much...next time will use 1/2 red and 1/2 green. The diced tomatoes & coconut milk only came in 13.5 oz cans so I added 1/2 8 oz can of coconut water. Also I love the sweetness of scallions so I used 1 yellow onion and 6 green scallions. Finally, the seafood I used was Red Snapper, Whiting and shrimp (that's what I had on hand) and they held up perfectly! Next time I think I'll substitute lemongrass for the cumin for a true Thai flare...so glad to have found this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
Solid dish. Catfish fillets were on sale at the store and it went well with the stew. I added half a tablespoon of red pepper to give it a little kick and halved the bell peppers. Everyone that had it loved the taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
Looks great! I will definitely try this. Let's keep getting the word out about how great tilapia is; the most eco-friendly fish and tastes great too! If you live in a warm climate you can easily raise your own too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
This recipe is a keeper for sure! It was sooo yummy! I was a little hesitant because although I like some fish, I'm not a huge seafood lover and "fish stew" just sounded so... fishy. But it really wasn't, and I'm so glad I tried it. Instead of on the stove, I just threw everything in my slow cooker and set it on high for 2.5 hours. I accidently used twice the amount of diced tomatoes, but it still turned out great! It was perfect with quinoa... I can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
Delicious recipe. I only used red and yello peppers and also threw in a couple of packs of frozen crab and it came out very tasty. This will definitely turn into a 'go-to' recipe. For those who are concerned about the amount of fat in the coconut milk, I made this once where I split the coconut milk in half and substituted the 2nd half with almond milk (very light fat free substitute) and it came out just as nice, not as sweet but still a great alternative for those watching their weights :P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
I am in the process of preparing this and one large onion is too much. Used 2 peppers not 4. Everything else per directions and there is no way one can of coconut milk covers more than 1/2 of mixture in pot. Had to add 2 cups of veggie broth. Be prepared and have more on hand if you want all coconut milk broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
It tasted alright, but I couldn't finish it. I think this recipe is more for fish lovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sammi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
I made this last night. Very, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
I didn't have coconut milk at home. Instead, I added some yogurt right the end. It was amazing. The yogurt was so good that I'm not sure I would use coconut milk next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
This is an AMAZING recipe. So easy to make and to tweek to your desires. I did use lite coconut milk, which was great. I loved the taste of the the canned tomatoes, I think they added a bit of bite which I love. I scaled the recipe to 4, instead of 6 because I only had 1 lb. of fish on hand. In the marinade I used extra lime juice because I love citrus and it was great. I also marinated for about 24 hours because in the former reviews that seems to make a difference. I also added the marinade to the soup. I used 1/2 of green, yellow, and orange peppers (my market had a sale and I take advantage of those.) Once I added the cilantro it all came together. YUM, YUM, YUM. It was a bit sweet so I added so salt and WOW. This is so fantastic. Thank you BellevueMama for posting this. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sherman Oaks, California, USA
Living In: Studio City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 241) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sexy Fish Stew

Make a simple, delicious white fish stew with leeks, fennel, and potatoes.

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States