Brazilian Collards Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2006
My neighbor's whiney little 7 year old stopped in as these were getting done. He hung around until I offered him a taste (He's like Mikey - He hates EVERYTHING). As it turned out, a taste wasn't enough. He asked for some in a bowl - which I gave him. He left and a few minutes later, the phone rang - it was his mom wanting the recipe. This isn't my review - it's Kenny's. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2005
I've used this recipe for years, but I substitute Smoked Pork Hocks or Salt Pork for the bacon. If using the pork hocks, use whole and then cut the meat off and return it to the pot when finished cooking. Excellent taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
Being raised in the south I grew up on Collards but as an adult I had never cooked them until this year. I made them for New Years Day and they were great. My husband never had Collards and he loved them. My 28 year old daughter said that these were her new favorite dish. Needless to say I will be using this recipe quite a bit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
I served this as a side dish for a South American dinner and wine tasting we hosted and it was a huge hit - even those who thought they didn't like collards - liked these! I only used about 1/4 tsp of cayenne and it had enough kick for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
I made these for a south american dinner party and all I can say is WOW!!! I WON that dinner party! (Can you win a dinner party?) I was the only one who was asked for their recipe! LOVE IT!! I am making this on thanksgiving now because I can't wait to eat it again!! (OH! and I doubled the recipe and used only 1/2 tsp of cayenne pepper! It was PLENTY!!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PUREDOLLER

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
I made this at my parent's house for Christmas and they love Collards greens - with ham hocks. I on the other hand don't like ham hocks so I was happy to try this recipe. They worried me to no end saying they didn't see any ham hocks, how are you cooking greens without ham hocks, do you want us to run out and get some for you? I was concerned the red wine vinegar may be too overpowering, but it was perfect. My entire family loved the greens and I caught my mom stashing some in the BACK of the freezer for later. Nice simple recipe, thanks so much! By the way, I added a small amount of crushed red pepper and I used hickory smoked bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AndAQT2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
2 hours!!! I didn't read well enough and didn't leave enough time to try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Erin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
Tasty but too spicy. I would probably start with 1/2 tsp of cayenne and then add to taste. I did mine in the crock pot for about 8 hours after browning the salt pork and onion in the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
These greens are sooooo good! I can't believe that there are only 5 reviews for this dish. If I could I would give this ten stars. Definetly a keeper in my book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by andrea92fl
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
Spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dothan, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States