Brazilian Collards Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
I tried tried these last night , they were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scooter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
I attended the Wine Tasting/South American Food Party, and these collards were the best I've ever had! Tender, flavorful, no bitterness at all- enjoyed by everyone there! Excellent as leftovers too, since I was able to take the little bit left, home with us(G). Yummy! Lisa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
I served this as a side dish for a South American dinner and wine tasting we hosted and it was a huge hit - even those who thought they didn't like collards - liked these! I only used about 1/4 tsp of cayenne and it had enough kick for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
I made this at my parent's house for Christmas and they love Collards greens - with ham hocks. I on the other hand don't like ham hocks so I was happy to try this recipe. They worried me to no end saying they didn't see any ham hocks, how are you cooking greens without ham hocks, do you want us to run out and get some for you? I was concerned the red wine vinegar may be too overpowering, but it was perfect. My entire family loved the greens and I caught my mom stashing some in the BACK of the freezer for later. Nice simple recipe, thanks so much! By the way, I added a small amount of crushed red pepper and I used hickory smoked bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AndAQT2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
we got collard greens in our CSA and my not being very fond of southern food was so excited to find this recipe. We couldn't find peppered bacon so we used side meat (cooked twice as much needed to get the fat content and saved the rest of the meat to make a scramble in the morning). It was so flavorful with a little bit of spice. I think we found a recipe for any time we get collards again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Thomas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
I've been making this Brazilian collard recipe for a year now. Finally getting around to review it. This is the only way I will ever do collard greens. Works well with Mustard, turnip, and Kale also. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
Look no further - this is the best collard recipe ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Aiken, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
Tasty but too spicy. I would probably start with 1/2 tsp of cayenne and then add to taste. I did mine in the crock pot for about 8 hours after browning the salt pork and onion in the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
WOW! These collards are excellent. I served them at a big family dinner. Everyone raved about the dish. My father who's been making collards since before I was born asked me for the recipe. That's a HUGE compliment! If I make them again when there will be a lot of kids I may half the cayenne pepper so the collards can be enjoyed by the little ones as well. Thanks for this great, great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Walker
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
Being raised in the south I grew up on Collards but as an adult I had never cooked them until this year. I made them for New Years Day and they were great. My husband never had Collards and he loved them. My 28 year old daughter said that these were her new favorite dish. Needless to say I will be using this recipe quite a bit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States