Brazilian Chicken with Coconut Milk Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2003
made this one for my boyfriend and he absolutely loved it!combined with rice,this dish is very similar to curry dishes.love the coconut milk and tomato sauce.also turns out good when you combine similar spices you might have at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2003
This was a very simple, spicy chicken dish that my wife and I both really enjoyed. Without question a 5 star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2004
Though this dish takes a little time to prepare, it is AMAZING. Spicy and delicious with the coconut milk. Add a little rice on the side and your guests will gobble this up. It's my favorite recipe I've found on this site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Issaquah, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2004
My husband & I made this last night after a long day at work. It was quick and easy to make and tasted delicious. I will be making this again, I even had the leftovers for lunch today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2004
This is an ideal recipe for me. I had most of the ingredients already in my kitchen, and only had to buy a couple of them. However, the result is a completely exotic dish that it wildly different from anything I've ever made. My advice is: if the hot ingredients seem like they will make the dish too hot for you, omit them! I did. This recipe can be varied, believe me, I know. I used chicken drumsticks. I fried them w/the spices rubbed on them for 5 min. on all sides, then baked for 25 additional minutes. I didn't have onions, so I added carrots and sauteed mushrooms. Everything baked together (after sauteeing) in a bubbling casserole dish. I served it with sticky rice. My point? Use your common sense and take advantage of this great recipe. Improvise and have fun. I served this on New Years Eve for my husband and we were impressed at the authentic Brazilian taste. Thanks, Mlyin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2005
My family loves Mexican and Indian recipes and this was a very good alternative--kind of a combination of the best of both cuisines. I agree with another reviewer--it really is more of a curry, but with it's own unique blend of spices. The only substitution I made was instead of the jalapeno pepper and tomatoes, I used a can of Rotel diced tomatoes with jalepenos. Even the kids enjoyed this one!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2005
I was in the mood to try something different. I had to modify the recipe based on what I had in the kitchen. First of all, I halved the recipe. I only had canned tomatoes, I don't have any jalapenos so I used extra cayenne pepper and, on a whim, added crushed red pepper. I also added a little bit of curry powder, and I didn't have any parsley. I served this over rice. So, this isn't the exact recipe, I'll admit, but if you stick to the basic idea, you can modify this recipe based on your own tastes. I like exotic food, and I felt this was a nice change, but probably acceptable for those who aren't so adventurous. The flavors of the spices and coconut milk are soooo good. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sparta, New Jersey, USA
Living In: New Brunswick, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2005
This was wonderful! I used cilantro instead of the parsley, though. Next time I make it I'll cube the chicken instead of leaving the breasts whole. Made a double batch, froze the 2nd serving. First time I served it with brown rice, 2nd time was with whole wheat angel hair - was delicious both times. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2005
My husband and I loved this recipe! I subbed fresh corriander for the parsley and added the chicken back into the sauce to suck up all that coconut taste. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tripoli, North, Lebanon
Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2005
Wonderful flavors! Really easy! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Curried Coconut Chicken

See how to make quick-and-easy curried chicken.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States