Brazilian Chicken with Coconut Milk Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
made it mostly as written except used canned diced tomatoes and took a meat mallet to the chicken breasts and flattened them. We'll be having this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mangoblue
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
My dish turned out very good but I did change some things to make it to my taste. Just 1 jalapeño e just two tomatoes. Add a table spoon of tomato purée. And let the chicken cook in the coconut milk for about 10 minutes. My hubby likes it a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mangoblue

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
I made this recipe while on the J.J. Virgin diet. It was so wonderful. I would make it any time, diet or not. A real winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
LOVE this recipe. Double up on the spices and it is ridiculously good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by evdjohnson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
Easy & delicious. Served it without rice or pasta. Substituted canned chilis for jalepeno. Also used ground ginger because I was out of fresh. Worked fine. Really yummy stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
I liked this recipe a lot. The spice mixture for the chicken was fantastic; really nice flavour. The only thing I would change slightly the next time would be the sauce. I think I would add a little less coconut milk than called for (found it tempered the spice on the chicken a little too much) and add salt here rather than to the chicken spice mixture. Other than that, awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
I love this recipe & have made it 5 or 6 times over the past month! I followed the recipe exactly, but I have since tweaked it & changed a few things to suit my taste. I use "thin cut" chicken breasts from Wal-Mart. Saves you from having to halve them yourself. I also add some bell pepper (I like yellow or orange, it makes it more colorful & "exotic" looking).. To the sauce, I add 1/4 teaspoon salt and 1/4 teaspoon ground black pepper. My sauce is never bland. I mix the seasoning in a ziploc bag, then add the chicken, making sure it gets all over each piece. I then let the chicken marinate for a couple hours in the fridge. I then cook it in olive oil & once all the chicken is done, I pour the sauce into the pan & let it "deglaze" and then I return the chicken to the pan and let it simmer for 15-20 minutes. Instead of coconut milk, you can use almond milk (unsweetened, plain) and add coconut flavoring or a little bit of coconut milk for a subtle coconut flavor. That cuts the fat & calories down significantly. I chop the tomatoes, bell pepper, onion, jalapeno & garlic & add them all at the same time, so the flavors can merry. Once the tomatoes have "stewed", and the onions are done, I add the coconut/almond milk & let it simmer. Then once my chicken's cooked, I add the sauce to the chicken's pan & let it pick up all that flavor & return the chicken to the pan & let it simmer for 15-20 minutes & really get moist and tender. The spices mix in with the sauce, too. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
Wonderful! I left out jalepenos and reduced cayenne pepper because I have kiddos, but otherwise kept it the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
Pretty darn good! I did some alterations, per other reviews. Cut chicken into cubes, halved the cumin and cayenne and added some chicken base when adding salt didn't work. Family loved it. Will definitely make again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
I wish I could give it 4.5. Very good! I served it over coconut rice that I'd added pineapple tidbits to, a nice contrast to the spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by houself

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Curried Coconut Chicken

See how to make quick-and-easy curried chicken.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States