Brazilian Chicken with Coconut Milk Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
I really can't understand the reviewers who said this was bland. It is literally impossible to end up with bland results if the recipe was actually followed. If modifications were made and the result was bland--that's another story (and not justification for a bad review). I still crack up every time someone completely changes a recipe and then reviews it (sorry if this is hard on your ego, but it really screws up the review system). I was very happy with this recipe, as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Absolutey delicious! Used canned tomatoes, less cayenne and two mild jalapeños from the garden. Seasoned and browned the chicken and threw it in the slow cooker. Sautéed the onion, etc. And mixed it with tomatoes and coconut milk and poured it all on top of the chicken. Cooked on low 8 hours. Fantastic flavor! Thank you, MLYIN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fair Lawn, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
A lovely and simple recipe, I replaced cayenne pepper with paprika. I also added a slice of lime which works really well with coconut milk and is used a lot in Brasilian food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Will Johann

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
This "Brazilian Chicken with Coconut Milk" tasted excellent. I should not have been surprised when the "sauce" tasted like a red Thai curry given that many of the ingredients were similar (onions instead of shallots, jalapeno peppers instead of Thai chili peppers, ginger, garlic, and coconut milk - no lemon grass or kaffir lime leaves though). The sauce was a beautiful salmon color with bits of red (tomatoes) and green (jalapeno peppers and parsley garnish). I deviated from the recipe by cutting the chicken into 1" cubes so that my chicken-hating husband would be less likely to complain since more of the surface area of the chicken would be browned (his preference). The spice mixture on the chicken tasted like hot version (cayenne) of a typical Middle-Eastern curry (cumin, turmeric, coriander). I also deviated from the recipe by stirring the chicken into the sauce (instead of serving the sauce over the chicken) which would obviously blend all the seasonings together. My own end result tasted like an Indian curry with a parsley garnish instead of a cilantro garnish. Although there are simpler curry recipes that taste just as delicious, I won't hesitate to make this one again and again. I really enjoyed it. Thank you MLYIN for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ladybug
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
This was a different flavor than we are used to... it was okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
Excellent recipe; great flavor combinations. Husband gives this two thumbs up and will be a regular in our rotation! Try it, you won't be sorry; just adjust the spices to your taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Raeford, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
This was very, very good. I couldn't follow exactly just because my family doesn't like spicy so I left out the jalapeno and only put a sprinkle of cayenne. We did use a can of diced tomatoes instead of the tomatoes just because I didn't have fresh tomatoes on hand. I could just make the tomato coconut sauce as a soup it was so good. I plan to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Michigan, USA
Living In: Port Richey, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
This was absolutely delicious!! I used 8 chicken thighs instead of breasts, just due to personal preference. I had to add a half teaspoon more of each spice to make enough rub to coat the chicken. Really make sure to really get that rub on all areas of the chicken as it's just amazing with a perfect amount of heat. I made exactly as written, only adding about 4-5 good grinds of sea salt to the sauce as it warmed. I served over basmati rice and everyone just loved it. The best part is that this was a very easy recipe, especially for such excellent results. I know I'll be making this again and again because it's truly the type of dish that has that crave-ability factor. Thank you so much for sharing the recipe, Mylin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Super yummy. I did not have turmeric but it didn't seem to make difference. I served it over basmati rice. I also used canned tomatoes, and cut the chicken up to bite size pieces. I would use less coconut milk next time. Too much sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Gibbons

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
This was so delicious. I used boneless chicken thighs cubed instead of chicken breast. Followed all ingredients, and served over steamed white rice. My family loved it. Definitely a keeper n making again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 212) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Curried Coconut Chicken

See how to make quick-and-easy curried chicken.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Coconut Milk Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make corned beef, Thai-style, with coconut milk and curry paste.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States