Brazilian Chicken with Coconut Milk Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
Wow! My taste buds are still in heaven. This recipe ranks up as one of my favorites. I would make a few suggested changes. reduce the Cayenne, I like it hot but that is way over the top. I would use a dash or two for starters. boneless chicken thighs are a good substitute, they remain more moist. I would use one pepper with the seeds chopped. If you are going to use coconut milk, use the real stuff, eat less if you have to, its worth the flavor. one final suggestion, add the chicken back into the sauce for 15min on simmer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
WOW! I followed the recipe except I left out the cayanne (because of my kids)and used canned tomatoes. I returned the chicken to the pan and simmered in the sauce for a few minutes. I served it w/white rice and fried plantains. My husband raved and so did my kids. Reminds me of a curry almost but with better flavor. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CTMOMOF9

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2007
Missing link - BASIL I made the recipe according to directions and tore up a little basil (rather than parsley) after seasoning it to taste. The basil added a little kick and some more sweetness. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
WOW! This was so good I didn't want to stop eating! I did tweak it based off other reviews of bland sauce. I started by softening the chopped onion in the olive oil. I then added my cut up chicken breast (I forgot to rub in the seasoning first). I evenly sprinkeld the seasoning mix over the chicken, added minced garlic and let it cook. After the chicken was mostly cooked through I added a can of diced tomatoes, sprinkled the ginger, olive oil, and garlic powder over the tomatoes, added hot diced green chilis and mixed it all into the chicken. I let it simmer for about 10 minutes, added the coconut milk and let simmer another 5 minutes. I served it over Basmati rice. Next time I will add diced potatoes to the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2005
I was pleasantly surprised at how good this dish was! I tried it because I thought it might be good, but it was just great!!! Don't forget to season the chicken and the sauce with salt and pepper to taste. I think that maybe a couple of reviewers may have forgotten, which led to their conclusions that this was bland. It was absolutely delicious! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by allison125

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2003
made this one for my boyfriend and he absolutely loved it!combined with rice,this dish is very similar to curry dishes.love the coconut milk and tomato sauce.also turns out good when you combine similar spices you might have at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2003
This was a very simple, spicy chicken dish that my wife and I both really enjoyed. Without question a 5 star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2005
This was a nice change. It's incredibly spicy, which suited our tastes just fine. Next time I think I'll simmer the chicken in the sauce for a bit so it can soak up some of the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CandiceSteele

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Higashi-Omi, Shiga, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2006
Wow, everytime I think I've found my favourite recipe on this site another one comes along that's even better! This was amazingly good and I want to make it everyday! I also used canned diced tomatoes and cut my chicken into smaller chunks. It turned out like a curry...sooo good. I'll definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
This. Is. Amazing. I selected it for my mom to cook and she said she kept it the same except being a little heavy handed with the spice measurements, cutting back a bit on the coconut milk and using diced tomatoes. It was sooooo tasty and a nice kick of heat. Absolutely love it and is now our dish to try out on guests next time. Yum. thanks!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raquel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Curried Coconut Chicken

See how to make quick-and-easy curried chicken.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States