Brazilian Chicken with Coconut Milk Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
LOVE this recipe. Double up on the spices and it is ridiculously good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by evdjohnson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
Easy & delicious. Served it without rice or pasta. Substituted canned chilis for jalepeno. Also used ground ginger because I was out of fresh. Worked fine. Really yummy stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
I liked this recipe a lot. The spice mixture for the chicken was fantastic; really nice flavour. The only thing I would change slightly the next time would be the sauce. I think I would add a little less coconut milk than called for (found it tempered the spice on the chicken a little too much) and add salt here rather than to the chicken spice mixture. Other than that, awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
I love this recipe & have made it 5 or 6 times over the past month! I followed the recipe exactly, but I have since tweaked it & changed a few things to suit my taste. I use "thin cut" chicken breasts from Wal-Mart. Saves you from having to halve them yourself. I also add some bell pepper (I like yellow or orange, it makes it more colorful & "exotic" looking).. To the sauce, I add 1/4 teaspoon salt and 1/4 teaspoon ground black pepper. My sauce is never bland. I mix the seasoning in a ziploc bag, then add the chicken, making sure it gets all over each piece. I then let the chicken marinate for a couple hours in the fridge. I then cook it in olive oil & once all the chicken is done, I pour the sauce into the pan & let it "deglaze" and then I return the chicken to the pan and let it simmer for 15-20 minutes. Instead of coconut milk, you can use almond milk (unsweetened, plain) and add coconut flavoring or a little bit of coconut milk for a subtle coconut flavor. That cuts the fat & calories down significantly. I chop the tomatoes, bell pepper, onion, jalapeno & garlic & add them all at the same time, so the flavors can merry. Once the tomatoes have "stewed", and the onions are done, I add the coconut/almond milk & let it simmer. Then once my chicken's cooked, I add the sauce to the chicken's pan & let it pick up all that flavor & return the chicken to the pan & let it simmer for 15-20 minutes & really get moist and tender. The spices mix in with the sauce, too. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
Wonderful! I left out jalepenos and reduced cayenne pepper because I have kiddos, but otherwise kept it the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
Pretty darn good! I did some alterations, per other reviews. Cut chicken into cubes, halved the cumin and cayenne and added some chicken base when adding salt didn't work. Family loved it. Will definitely make again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
I wish I could give it 4.5. Very good! I served it over coconut rice that I'd added pineapple tidbits to, a nice contrast to the spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by houself

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
This could possibly be the tastiest dish I've cooked in over 10 years. I substituted the Jalapeno with red dry peppers, kind of like Thai peppers and it gave it the nicest touch. I added a cup of mushrooms as well to give it a nice balance and wowwwwwwwwwwww!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
Just ok....the chicken had great flavor, but the sauce was very bland, I even added fresh basil and fresh parsley. I used canned tomatoes drained. Maybe more garlic would have helped. I let the chicken simmer for about 10-15 minutes also
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
We really liked this recipe. I might add less cayenne next time, but that is a personal choice. Taste was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Curried Coconut Chicken

See how to make quick-and-easy curried chicken.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States