Brazilian Cheese Bread (Pao de Queijo) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 15, 2012
I am from Brazil and am so grateful to have found this recipe. A few changes to make it taste like the original dish: NO garlic whatsoever, real butter instead of oil and more cheese (about 2/3 cup more cheese). I like to add 1 cup of Italian blend shredded cheese and 1/2 cup Parmesan cheese. Now for beginner cooks like me: make sure all the butter is melted before adding the flour, the consistency of it will be way better ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Zuzy
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
This gluten-free bread recipe is amazing! It is simple to bake and ready in no time at all. The only changes I made were to use half butter half olive oil and mixture of parmesan and mozarella cheese. I forgot to add some herbs. I think adding some italian herbs will enhance the smell and taste. The garlicky and buttery taste complement very well. The bread is very crusty (oh so wonderful when you tease it apart) and the inside is a but gummy (expected as the main flour ingredient is tapioca). Perhaps next time I will substitute some of the tapioca flour with millet flour (for its cornmeal like texture. This recipe is definitely a keeper! I will rate it 4.5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Geylang, East Region, Singapore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
I love this recipe! They are so chewy and satisfying. I have also made these with cheddar cheese instead of parm and they are equally delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Killer Carrot
Living In: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
I thought these were great. My wife (Brazilian) didn't care for them much, said she'd never heard of anyone putting garlic in them before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
I lived in Brazil with my husband for 3 months and ate alot of these. So I made Pao de Quijo yesterday with some modifications: I put just a bit of garlic because Brazilian Pao de Queijo doesn't smell like garlic. I am sure with garlic it's delicious, but I wanted authentic Brazilian bread. Also, I used veggie butter. If you are not vegetarian, use regular butter. I am not sure how it will come out with olive oil. I just know that our Brazilian housekeeper used butter when making bread. She was an awesome cook).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
I tried many pao de queijo recipes and this one is the best. I do this recipe since a while now and my Brazilian friends approved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Great recipe, you can omit garlic or add herbs if you want to be adventurous. If your batter ends up being runny, just scoop them into mini-muffin tins and they work just fine...and yes, the "rubbery" texture is normal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
I love this cheese bread. It is similar to the colombian Pan de Yuca. I'll post the recipe for it here, as well as some other traditional colombian "parva".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bogota, Distrito Capital De Bogota, Colombia
Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
Really good recipe. Although i am not Brazilian and never been to Brazil, the bread tasted exactly as it does in my favorite Brazilian restaurant. I did NOT add the garlic (i prefer the taste of the butter and the cheese over the garlic).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by suskewiske
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
It was so easy to make. Everybody loves it! thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Cheese Herb Bread

See how to make fragrant cheese herb bread.

Grain Free Banana Bread

Discover the secret ingredient to a gluten- and grain-free banana bread.

Chef John's Irish Soda Bread

Classic recipe for an Irish quick bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States