Brazilian Cheese Bread (Pao de Queijo) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
I love this recipe! I have used it dozens of times. I make this as a gluten free pizza crust. The bread stays nice and flat if you spoon it out and flatten it with your fingers (keep a bowl of water nearby for easy spreading) Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by swhatcott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
Really simple, really good, and totally satisfies the bread craving. Tried it a second time with sugar and cinnamon instead of garlic and cheese...must have done something wrong because they turned to a strange sort of hard jelly inside. Maybe I'll stick to the original recipe. Lol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
I couldn't find tapioca flour and somewhere on the internet it said to use 1/4 cup cornstarch and 3/4 cup regular flour for 1 cup of tapioca flour. So that is the substitution I used. I also used butter instead of oil and regular milk, not soy. Added about 1/4 cup of shredded cheddar along with the parmesan. Rolled the dough into 1.5 inch balls (made about 12). Baked for just over 20 mins. Came out good but a bit dry. Maybe it would've been moister if I were able to use tapioca flour. All in all, they were really tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
My husband lived in Brazil for 2 years and was ecstatic to have me make this! I made it for the first time a couple of years ago as written, and he loved it but was not so into the garlic as other reviews mentioned (this is not an authentic part of a Brazilian Cheese bread). I make it now with no garlic and the water and oil ratios switched, and it is perfect. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
I didn't know it was that easy to make pao de queijo, I love it. I think feta cheese works better then parmesan though. I also have tried with goat cheese and garlic as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
I am from Brazil and am so grateful to have found this recipe. A few changes to make it taste like the original dish: NO garlic whatsoever, real butter instead of oil and more cheese (about 2/3 cup more cheese). I like to add 1 cup of Italian blend shredded cheese and 1/2 cup Parmesan cheese. Now for beginner cooks like me: make sure all the butter is melted before adding the flour, the consistency of it will be way better ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Zuzy
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
This gluten-free bread recipe is amazing! It is simple to bake and ready in no time at all. The only changes I made were to use half butter half olive oil and mixture of parmesan and mozarella cheese. I forgot to add some herbs. I think adding some italian herbs will enhance the smell and taste. The garlicky and buttery taste complement very well. The bread is very crusty (oh so wonderful when you tease it apart) and the inside is a but gummy (expected as the main flour ingredient is tapioca). Perhaps next time I will substitute some of the tapioca flour with millet flour (for its cornmeal like texture. This recipe is definitely a keeper! I will rate it 4.5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Geylang, East Region, Singapore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
I love this recipe! They are so chewy and satisfying. I have also made these with cheddar cheese instead of parm and they are equally delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Killer Carrot
Living In: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
I thought these were great. My wife (Brazilian) didn't care for them much, said she'd never heard of anyone putting garlic in them before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
I lived in Brazil with my husband for 3 months and ate alot of these. So I made Pao de Quijo yesterday with some modifications: I put just a bit of garlic because Brazilian Pao de Queijo doesn't smell like garlic. I am sure with garlic it's delicious, but I wanted authentic Brazilian bread. Also, I used veggie butter. If you are not vegetarian, use regular butter. I am not sure how it will come out with olive oil. I just know that our Brazilian housekeeper used butter when making bread. She was an awesome cook).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cheese Herb Bread

See how to make fragrant cheese herb bread.

Grain Free Banana Bread

Discover the secret ingredient to a gluten- and grain-free banana bread.

How to Make Pumpkin Bread

If you like banana bread, you’ll love this holiday pumpkin bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States