Brazilian Cheese Bread (Pao de Queijo) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
Just finished making this for my girl scouts to taste tonight. We are learning about Brazil for our national thinking day. They are VERY greasy! Rubbery on the inside. I did see a review that said they are supposed to be crisy on the outside and rubbery on the inside so I guess I will leave the recipe when I make them for thinking day but maybe LESS OIL -- I made them in a mini muffin tin and they are perfect two bite sized! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
This is wonderful! I have made it several times. It is best right out of the oven. I use butter, no garlic and twice the amount of Parmesan or Romano cheese. It ways turns out crisp and chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
Loved this recipe made it 2 times fast and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I'm an American who lived in Brazil for almost 2 years. Unfortunately I never learned how to make Pao de queijo, or any other salgadinhos. This recipe is fantastic! They are perfect. I'm so excited to have found the real thing. It took me a long time to figure out that Farinha de Mandioca is Tapioca flour. I found some at Winco in their bulk dept. YEY! My first batch I just dropped them on the pan, the second batch I rolled them into balls, and I think I like that better. I would like them to be a tiny bit more airy, so I might try a little leavening, but that will probably ruin them. I might also try with grated cheddar. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
I love this recipe! I have used it dozens of times. I make this as a gluten free pizza crust. The bread stays nice and flat if you spoon it out and flatten it with your fingers (keep a bowl of water nearby for easy spreading) Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by swhatcott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
Really simple, really good, and totally satisfies the bread craving. Tried it a second time with sugar and cinnamon instead of garlic and cheese...must have done something wrong because they turned to a strange sort of hard jelly inside. Maybe I'll stick to the original recipe. Lol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
I couldn't find tapioca flour and somewhere on the internet it said to use 1/4 cup cornstarch and 3/4 cup regular flour for 1 cup of tapioca flour. So that is the substitution I used. I also used butter instead of oil and regular milk, not soy. Added about 1/4 cup of shredded cheddar along with the parmesan. Rolled the dough into 1.5 inch balls (made about 12). Baked for just over 20 mins. Came out good but a bit dry. Maybe it would've been moister if I were able to use tapioca flour. All in all, they were really tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
My husband lived in Brazil for 2 years and was ecstatic to have me make this! I made it for the first time a couple of years ago as written, and he loved it but was not so into the garlic as other reviews mentioned (this is not an authentic part of a Brazilian Cheese bread). I make it now with no garlic and the water and oil ratios switched, and it is perfect. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
I didn't know it was that easy to make pao de queijo, I love it. I think feta cheese works better then parmesan though. I also have tried with goat cheese and garlic as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
I am from Brazil and am so grateful to have found this recipe. A few changes to make it taste like the original dish: NO garlic whatsoever, real butter instead of oil and more cheese (about 2/3 cup more cheese). I like to add 1 cup of Italian blend shredded cheese and 1/2 cup Parmesan cheese. Now for beginner cooks like me: make sure all the butter is melted before adding the flour, the consistency of it will be way better ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grain Free Banana Bread

Discover the secret ingredient to a gluten- and grain-free banana bread.

How to Make Pumpkin Bread

If you like banana bread, you’ll love this holiday pumpkin bread.

Indian Chapati Bread

Watch how to make this Indian flatbread recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States