Brazilian Carrot Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Not quite carrot-y enough for the Brazilian cake we have eaten in Brazil, but it was delicious non the less. We ate it all in less than a day! It is a keeper :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2013
For the icing, start by putting a can of table cream in the freezer for an hour; this will separate the thick part from the watery part, which you'll want to dump so your icing won't be watery. Melt 4 tablespoons of instant chocolate in 1 tablespoon of butter. Let it cool and once it's room temperature mix in the table cream. Pour it over the fresh-out-of-the-oven cake, let it cool and set, and it's done! I personally like to make my cake in round pans so that it drizzles on the side! Also it will NOT mix in with the cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
As in other carrot cake recipes, grating carrots is much easier. There's no point in putting hard carrots in a blender. I did it because that's what the recipe called for, and I wanted to try a different method. Anyhow, think I ruined my blender, even though the eggs were in the mixture and the oil. The chocolate frosting did turn out well, but there's a lot of it. The cake is very orange. The combo of the two wasn't to my liking. There's other carrot cake recipes out there much better than this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
It's a great recipe! I was just concerned about the amount of sugar the recipe asked for but the cake turned out great. I'm also brazilian and this was the first time I got the frosting right! I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
Yum, reminds of the time I spent in Brazil. I just couldn't get the chocolate on top right. I used unsweetened coco, perhaps I should have used something like Nestle Quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nutley, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Flanders, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
I tried this recipe for my son's school project. I must have done something wrong...My frosting DID NOT melt into the cake. I sperad it all over and a few minutes later it was like a little crust....But it was VERY GOOD anyway... Not sure what went wrong, but good anyway....what should I have done or not done to have frosting melt into hte cake??? maybe cooked frosting too long and it was too thick??? like I said, good anyway... Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
Yummy! Soft and moist, and a really lovely light orange color. I only had half the amount of milk, so could only make a half batch of the icing. I left out the sugar- I didn't think it needed any more than the cocoa mix already has! I used Ghiradelli's double chocolate cocoa mix. I can't wait to make this again with the entire amount of frosting- its SO good with the cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nici

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
I have Brazilian neighbors and they said this was better than her mothers! They couldn't get enough of it and ate the whole thing in 2 days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
This was a very good cake. I did succumb to putting vanilla and cinnamon in it. I made the right choice. It is pretty simple to make, so I will make it every time I have extra carrots around. The cake was soft and awesome, but the icing didn't turn out for me. I have to say, though, that this is the fist time I've made icing, so it might be me. Actually I found it didn't need icing after it cooled anyway because it had a nice semi-crisp top! My husband uses his coffee spoon to eat it with and just loves the taste combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rach3000

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
First of all...I am not from Brazil! I have never had this type of carrot cake and I made it as a lark. Secondly, I admit that I toyed with the recipe a bit. I didn't want a huge amount of cake around the house - so I cut the measurements by half and used an 8x8 pan instead of the 9x13 pan. I also added a couple of shakes of pumpkin pie spice and a dash of vanilla and a sprinkling of corriander. The only hot chocolate mix I had in the house was a blend called "Mayan" which means there was a bit of cinnamon and other spice to it. It turned out GREAT! I loved the gooeyness of the soaked in icing. I will use this recipe again as a base and I think the next time I will throw in some raisins and nuts and make a cream cheese glaze. Even though I think it is more than likely fantastic made just as ordered in the recipe - my experimentation leads me to think you could do all sorts of things to this recipe to change it up - very versatile. The texture is moist and rich and it is just DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FUDGNIK

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States