Brazilian Carrot Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
Yummy! Soft and moist, and a really lovely light orange color. I only had half the amount of milk, so could only make a half batch of the icing. I left out the sugar- I didn't think it needed any more than the cocoa mix already has! I used Ghiradelli's double chocolate cocoa mix. I can't wait to make this again with the entire amount of frosting- its SO good with the cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nici

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
I just loved! I'm from Brazil but I live in the US per 4 years now... and I'll tell you, was 4 years without a delicius carrot cake till today! Taste just like home! Thank you!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
My room-mate, many years ago, was from Brazil and she made this cake. I loved it and sense then I've been trying to find the recipe. Thank you so much for posting this, it's just like I remembered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
I am also Brazillian and I make this cake all the time. Yes the icing is supossed to be absorved by the cake. It makes it really moisty but ugly..lol.If you dont want to do that for the icing you can get a bag of unsweeten chocolate chips. Melt it in a pan with butter. careful not to burn and spead it on top. The unsweeten chips will break up the sweetness of the cake a bit so its not so overwhelming and it will stay on top and look pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
This was a very good cake. I did succumb to putting vanilla and cinnamon in it. I made the right choice. It is pretty simple to make, so I will make it every time I have extra carrots around. The cake was soft and awesome, but the icing didn't turn out for me. I have to say, though, that this is the fist time I've made icing, so it might be me. Actually I found it didn't need icing after it cooled anyway because it had a nice semi-crisp top! My husband uses his coffee spoon to eat it with and just loves the taste combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rach3000

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
I have Brazilian neighbors and they said this was better than her mothers! They couldn't get enough of it and ate the whole thing in 2 days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
I tried this recipe for my son's school project. I must have done something wrong...My frosting DID NOT melt into the cake. I sperad it all over and a few minutes later it was like a little crust....But it was VERY GOOD anyway... Not sure what went wrong, but good anyway....what should I have done or not done to have frosting melt into hte cake??? maybe cooked frosting too long and it was too thick??? like I said, good anyway... Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
It's a great recipe! I was just concerned about the amount of sugar the recipe asked for but the cake turned out great. I'm also brazilian and this was the first time I got the frosting right! I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Not quite carrot-y enough for the Brazilian cake we have eaten in Brazil, but it was delicious non the less. We ate it all in less than a day! It is a keeper :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2013
For the icing, start by putting a can of table cream in the freezer for an hour; this will separate the thick part from the watery part, which you'll want to dump so your icing won't be watery. Melt 4 tablespoons of instant chocolate in 1 tablespoon of butter. Let it cool and once it's room temperature mix in the table cream. Pour it over the fresh-out-of-the-oven cake, let it cool and set, and it's done! I personally like to make my cake in round pans so that it drizzles on the side! Also it will NOT mix in with the cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States