Brazilian Black Bean Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
I omitted the meat and used frozen mango chunks and this was a great recipe! I also served it with the Brazilian rice (you saute the rice with onion and garlic before cooking it) and a spinach, cilantro, pineapple salad and it made a delicious meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
My husband and I absolutely LOVE this recipe. I have made it for my cooking group, too, and froze the stew in 6 cup batches, and it turns out beautifully. You can just pop the frozen stew into your crockpot and lunch/dinner is ready in a few hours. The colors of this stew are also amazing. I like to use one can of petite diced tomatoes and one can of diced tomatoes with green chilies instead of the hot green chili pepper. It just saves me from having to dice a spicy pepper myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
This a absolutely and BY FAR the most delicious stew I've ever made. I thought initially that my family wouldn't like it because, well, mango + beans + ham + cilantro? But I got compliments all around for the absolute amazing flavor! This collection of tastes are fantastic, I couldn't believe it. Now I am throwing a little dinner party JUST so I can serve this and soak up all the compliments! SO easy to make too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunshynGoddess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
This was super yummy and easy to make. The only thing missing is seasoning. When I first tasted it, I panicked because it was bland, but as soon as I added some paprika, pepper and cumin, it really brought out the flavors and was fantastic! This is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2006
This was excellent. I used Italian sausage for the meat, but think this would be just as good vegetarian, or perhaps with chicken broth instead of water. I also added cumin to give it a bit of a flavor kick. I also used 3 mangoes instead of one. I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BATCAVES

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vinton, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2005
great recipe! I'm not a sweet potato fan, but my husband is. didn't really matter because all the flavors blended so well I couldn't tell I used a sweet potato. I didn't use meat substituted broth for water & added cumin, pepper & more garlic & doubled the mango. I think next time I'd reduce the liquid to 1 cup. definitely a keeper recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Gloucester, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
Amazing! This is the fourth or fifth time I have made this stew and it never fails to impress. Used sweet italian sausage this time instead of the chorizo (pregnant dinner guest with heartburn) and it was still wonderful. Only thing I can't understand is how someone didn't love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Souper Dad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wapakoneta, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
This has to be one of my most favorite dishes! I love the unusual mix of textures and flavors. I added some butternut squash and used andioulle sausage instead of the chorizo. I think it would also taste really good with a smoked sausage if you need a more mild soup for a family with young children. We have to serve Gluten-free meals and this is a keeper (make sure your choice of sausage is GF)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2007
This was quite tasty. My hubby and I do not eat pork, so I substituted a raw chicken chorizo sausage which I browned before I did anything else. I also used the large 28oz can of tomatos rather than the 14oz. The cilantro is a must for this recipe in my opinion, as it really ties the flavors together. I imagine that the left overs will be even better than the first night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
The note I added for my info was that I went lighter on the meat portion. Low fat is better. Also, I added a diced eggplant for more moisture and fiber.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 296) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States