Brazilian Black Bean Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
I absolutely LOVE this stew! The last time I made it, I decided to puree everything in the food processor add a little milk at the end and made a bisque. It is great either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
We replaced the chorizo with andouille sausage and it worked great. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by reneedawn
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
This was an okay recipe. It definitley isn't bland or needing spice, as some others reviewed. I think if you start with a good quality chorizo it's a good flavor base. Fresh mango could almost be used as a generous garnish, just to not lose the freshness of it. But overall it's very tomato flavored and it really overpowers the other flavors. I am hoping the leftovers will have time to mellow out and it will taste more balanced tomorrow. Especially because it made a TON of food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
This was fantastic! I love the fact of so many fresh ingredients. I used turkey sausage links diced, because we don't eat pork. And I did add some cumin, paprika, and some chili powder to spice it up. Was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
This was incredible. I skipped the ham, used a Serrano pepper, 1/4 teaspoon of cumin and served it with fresh flour tortillas and pan fried cotija cheese. I crumbled a little cotija cheese into mine too. Can't wait to see what the leftovers taste like. I bet it will taste even better! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Completely, utterly, 100% delicious. I used jarred mango, all my store had. The fresh mangos were rock hard, take forever to ripen and are soft about 15 minutes before they rot. Next time, I'll use frozen mango for a little better texture. Why is it someone always feels the need to give a recipe 1 star for not being "authentic?" I have no idea about the intracies of Brazilian cuisine, but don't miss out on this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie Lyter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
I make this all the time, but I make it meatless. Meat is expensive when you are paying off law school :-) I use chicken broth instead of water to give it a bit more flavor. It's cheap, easy, and freezes well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
This was delicious! I was looking for something "different" and ran across this recipe. Easy to make and tasted fantastic! Leftovers were even better. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
I probably should not review this stew, since I made a lot of changes. However my husband loved it and I wanted to thank CRVGRL for the inspiration of this dish. I was looking for a pantry meal, a way to use up what I already had on hand so here are my changes: I used smoked sausage instead of chorizo or ham. Acorn squash (instead of sweet potatoes) + one russet potato. 1 can dice tomatoes + 1/2 rotel (tomatoes w/ chiles). 1 can black bean (I would have like two cans if I had them on hand) Omitted the water, to keep stew thick. And left out the mango, since I didn't have anyone on hand either. Add Lots of cilantro. Still turned out DELICIOUS. I will try to make the recipe as written and revise my review at a later date.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Great mix of ingredients and what a great tasting and fulfilling Stew. Make sure you use actual sweet potatoes and not yams. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danfox7

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 296) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States