Brazilian Black Bean Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
Made this for dinner and my family loved it! I substituted low-fat chicken broth for the water cut out the salt, and added a lot of pepper. Serve with corn bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Delicious and easy. I used a 12oz. package of pork breakfast sausage, plus a tablespoon of chili powder to substitute the chorizo and ham. All other ingredients used as written. I'm a big fan of cilantro and mango. A great way to sweeten it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
love it! didn't use meat added a dash of cumin and pepper-yum! cilantro is a must
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
Wow - I don't know what else to say to this recipe! It is fabulous. I was unsure about mango, chorizo, and sweet potatoes together, but it works! I cut the fat in this stew way down by using vegetarian chorizo. I'm certainly glad I found this recipe...it will be a regular meal in our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
Awesome recipe - my favorite stew to date! Have made it with meat and without, both taste awesome :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
Delicious!! I was looking for a recipe to use some chorizo I picked up from a local meat company. As written, the sodium content is super high, so I used low sodium, organic canned beans and tomatoes and omitted the extra salt. Also omitted the oil, and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
This was so good and everyone loved it. I added cumin, black pepper and garlic, used tomatoes with green chilies, subbed chicken broth for the water and used frozen mango.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kerrville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
I used Mexican chorizo... and it was spicy!!! So be careful of the type of chorizo you use. While this was really tasty, it overpowered the stew. I also forgot the cilantro which would have been amazing. :( This is a fabulous recipe and I can't wait to make it again!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Machelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lima, Lima, Peru

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Excellent flavor. The combination of the tastes of the diverse ingredients, particularly the mangos creates a a wonderful flavor without any additional seasonings other than the garlic and salt. I backed off on the chili pepper and added the mangos and cilatro at the time of serving. Good reviews by all who tasted it. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
Delicious, could possibly use more chorizo, it kind of gets lost but some great flavor combinations. My son was a little intimidated by all the colors in the pot. Overall, a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rich

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 299) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States