Brazilian Black Bean Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
i skipped the black beans (I was out) and used jalapenos and was pleasantly suprised. will definately make this again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
This was a great recipe. I used Hillshire farms smoked sausage (turkey) and ham. Actually, you did not really need any meat. I doubled to tripled the spices. I brought it to a work pot luck and everyone loved it. It will definitely be in my rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
This was fantastic! I did follow the advice to spice it up with cayenne and cumin and added pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
I did not use the canola oil, because the chorizo has enough fat. Also, I added cumin and a lot of paprika, per another reviewer. This is like a chili, perfect for this cold snap we're having.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Pahl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harvard, Illinois, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
Made this for my family, except didn't have mangoes. Made dish as per recipe, just added abit of cumin, and family loved it!!! Son and husband went back for seconds. This is a super recipe and I'll be making it at least once a month!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
Delicious and quite colorful! Don't forget to add salt to taste. I also added 1/2tsp. cumin but it would have been fine without. wondeful recipe we will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Recipe was delicious. And I do not think there was a problem with the seasonings. The Key is to make sure you don't substitute another meat for the chorizo sausage as it is almost solely responsibly for the flavor of the stew. Salt and pepper to taste. I did add one 16oz can of chicken stock and only added enough water to make sure there was enough liquid to cook off as the stew thickened. I believe the chicken stock added a tad more flavor. other than that,loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
I enjoyed this stew very much. Even my picky wife enjoyed the stew. I did not add enough ham and my ham was cut to thin. I will change that for the next time. Also, I used cheap chorizo and it tasted a bit like Italian sausage. I will correct that for the next time. Over all, I was very impressed with the flavor of this stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
This is an OK recipe... I know I cooked it properly (better than as described in the recipe, in fact, as I took time to properly brown my meat and onions) but it just doesn't have that much flavor. Maybe if I had used cured chorizo instead of fresh it'd be better? But, I'll probably make it again, as it is quite different from the stews I typically make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
The photo of this recipe is what intrigued me. I didn't have all of the ingredients on hand so I improvised. I adjusted the serving size to 4. I used 1 can of black beans. I didn't have canned tomatoes on hand so I used a 10oz can of tom w/green chilis. I used one link of apple cinnamon chicken sausage and 2 links of spicy andouille chicken sausage. I had some mango in the freezer that I threw in the pot and I used 1 1/4 cups of water (didnt use broth) The mixture of the sweet potato with the mango and spicy as well as sweet sausage made my palate dance! Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 310) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States