Brazilian Black Bean Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
I thought this tasted very good. I wish i could give it a 4.5, since it tasted great at the end. I gave it a 4, because I pretty much followed the recipe (minus the meat, since we don't like to eat too much meat in this house, and the review says it can be made w/o meat and still taste good). When it was done, it had some good base taste, but was really really really needing spices. Usually if I have to just add a few extra spices, I give it a 5. But this time, I felt like I had to take a lot more time adding more, to make it taste really good. OK, what I did: I used some chicken broth instead of water (i had some leftover broth lying in the fridge). I added extra fresh garlic. I put in extra chili pepper. I put in extra mango & cilantro. I had to add extra salt & pepper, garlic powder. I added some lemon juice and cumin. I really felt it needed all of the extra spices. But the end product, after all these additions, was a very yummy & healthy dinner. I used fresh made black beans. And I served it on top of cooked barley. I will definitely do this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
I have made this a couple of times and I am finally getting it where I want it to be. By the books this recipe is very very bland. The texture is fantastic, but the lack of flavor makes this meal seem only halfway there. The problem is that you need to add flavor without upsetting the balance of texture. I have decreased the water to 3/4 cup, upped the garlic, added cumin, added black pepper. This has resulted in a recipe that tastes as good as it looks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chip Dunning

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hebron, Indiana, USA
Living In: Milford, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
My boyfriend loves this stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
This was interesting, but I didn't love it the way I thought I would. It is healthy (I did not add the meat and cut down on the oil.) Maybe it just really needed the meat to give it more flavour. Not popular with my family either. Perfectly ok soup but didn't wow me and I wouldn't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bubba's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
This recipe turns out great every time. We don't eat much meat so I just leave it out - still yummy. I use two mangoes, and always put hot sauce on the table for people that like extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber J.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
This made nearly 5 quarts and was quite satisfying. I really like that it uses so many veggies and even fruit to boot! I didn't use any salt since the sausage had plenty in it. I usually use chicken broth in place of water, but I did not do that this time and it turned out so well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
Fantastic dish. but would add more chorizo and ham. Also, another pepper. Family loved this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
I was skeptical about this recipe at first, but it turned out great. I will make this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
Easy to make. Very tasty. I have made it with and without the Mangos. Both ways are very good. I replaced the ham with bacon once and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by No Quintic

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
This was outstanding! The flavor of the sauce it makes is awesome. I had a big bag of frozen sweet potato fries I needed to use up. I made the following substitutions: chicken broth and sherry instead of water, ham & bacon for the meats, a can of ranch beans instead of black (this gave it the little zing that some reviewers missed), I did not use the chili pepper, I simmered it for over an hour. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 295) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States