Brazilian Black Bean Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Excellent dish. I also made it without the meat and am quite impressed. The recipe does not take long to prepare, and produces a huge amount of food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
I have never used chorizo before but I have been seeing it in a lot of recipes recently - time to give it a try! I was able to find an authentic looking hispanic brand. These sausages were in thick casings with metal clasps on each end. The normal grocery store brand looked nothing like this. I sauteed the sausage meat with the diced ham without adding additional oil, though it did seem like it needed a few teaspoons. By the time I added in the potatoes, veggies and beans, the sausage seemed to totally evaporate, leaving only the spices. Without those spices (similiar to the canned adobo sauce with the chipotle peppers), this stew would have been very bland. You could definitely leave out the ham, as I could not taste it at all, but if you leave out the chorizo, you will be throwing in some additional flavorings. My health conscious husband loved this as it was loaded with veggies, and light on the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salisbury, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Sorry... but I've lived in Brazil, and my wife is Brazilian, and we both agree that there is absolutely nothing Brazilian about this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica Paige
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
Very similiar to a Vegetarian Times recipe, minus the meat...it was a tad too sweet for me with the sweet potatoes and mango, but the crowd I served it to enjoyed it immensely. Next time I may use beef broth instead of water to help make it more savory and use a smaller mango. Thank you CRVGRL for posting this recipe! I did take your suggestion to serve it with a spinach salad...the Bermuda Spinach Salad (on this site) minus the meat, yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Paige

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
This was amazing! Changes I made: slow cooked a pork roast with paprika, cayenne pepper, cumin, and apple cider vinegar. Added the shredded pork and a little of the juices instead of the ham. The spices were perfect. Also used 1 jar of mango salsa as a sub for 1 can of tomatoes and the mango. Served on lime cilantro basmati rice. Absolutely divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
This was a very tasty and filling stew, but as written it is a bit bland. I am a vegetarian so I left out the meat. I had some veggie broth I needed to use up so I used that instead of water. Adding 3/4 tsp. of cumin to this dish really turns it into a 5 star recipe. I love how easy this is to put together and the fact that I can serve this on its own with a small side salad for a healthy lunch. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
This is a great anytime soup and so easy to put together. My husband and I really enjoyed it and the flavor is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maya

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
Adults thought this was great...Kids not so much...but that's kids for you..picky. We will be making this again..kids can eat PB & J that night..lol. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hatts

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allen, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
Nice blend of flavours
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 296) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States