Brazilian Black Bean Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
This is awesome! Whole family loves it and our South American friends loved it too when we served it at half time of the opening World Cup game.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
Really delicious. Made without meat. High school kids liked it very much. I used frozen mango, canned chopped green chilis (mild) instead of chopping a chili pepper, added 1 can of vegetable stock in place of 15 oz of the water, and added cumin, chili powder, and a bit more salt. I quadrupled the recipe for a carnival and used 2 six quart stock pots to prepare. To serve at the carnival, I kept the soup warm in 2 large crock pots. It made about 100 servings and it was completely gone. Thanks for a delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
I left out the potatoes, added rice. I was out of black beans, so I subbed in black eyed peas. Topped with a little cheddar cheese...amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canon City, Colorado, USA
Living In: Wellston, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
Made this for a prostart community dinner with different countries. Things were hectic and we lost the mangos but it still turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
This was VERY tasty. I added a bit of cumin and curry powder and skipped the chile pepper so it wouldn't be too spicy for my kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly BiGolly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Holy cow I think this is my new favorite soup! Great blend of flavors. I make a few modifications only because of what I have (or rather, don't have). I generally don't have ham so I just omit and double the sausage. I also generally don't have a green chilly pepper so I just substitute 1/4 tsp crushed red pepper. I know it's probably not quite the same flavor but it seems to work. I use frozen mangoes also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Coos Bay, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
My in-laws went away on a South American Cruise and I wanted to throw them a party. This stew was a hit! Everyone loved it and it was gone faster than any of the foods that I made. The sweet and savory blended together beautifully. I put in a little more sweet potatoes 10 a little less black beans. Also, I used frozen mangoes and frozen cilantro. Other than that, I made it exactly the way the recipe breeze. Highly recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
OUTSTANDING DISH!!! As a vegan, I left out the Ham and chorizo and used meatless chorizo (soy-based) from Whole Foods, and used coconut oil instead of canola. This is a keeper!!!! Was wonderful on a chilly 30 degree night like tonight...served with crusty garlic bread...To die for!!!! Thank you for this outstanding dish. Will be saved in perpetuity in my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Jombus

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
This is one of our families FAVs! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Delicious. Made a few tweaks. No oil, no salt. Added 1tbsp cumin. Frozen mango. Jalepenos. Crowd PLEASER! Served with flour tortillas and cilantro lime rice. Sautéed kale and collards to round out the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 295) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States