Brazilian Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
After reading so many "love it" or "hate it" reviews, I was a little afraid to try this recipe. We found it interesting, not exactly brilliant but certainly not as bad as some make it out to be. We used all the orange juice and a bit more water as the liquid didn't cover the beans. It's a good change from the Tex-Mex black bean flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
I chose this recipe because I wanted to use my immersion blender, and I wasn't disappointed. I served it with Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread , nachos, and sour cream. It would not serve six hungry adults as a main dish. My husband suggested I add chorizo next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
We never thought this would be as amazing as it was. Orange juice seemed so foreign but it was amazing and everyone loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
I tried it with just a half cup of orange juice as other reviewers suggested but then I could barely taste it, so if I make it again I would use a cup as suggested in the recipe. Don't be afraid of the orange flavor, it is lovely! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
Excellent soup; just the right mix of ordinary and exotic to get the mouth bubbling. I host a weekly dinner party and people coming in the door said, "I was hoping that smell was coming from your place!" ...Always a great way to start a party! I followed the reviewers' suggestions, added a couple of whole cloves, a tsp of oregano, a bay leaf and a dash of nutmeg, and topped it with plain yogurt and chives. I mixed it all with a hand blender and then put in the diced red peppers for mouthfeel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goldcurry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
Very good and a nice change of pace!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HollyN82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
This soup is yummy... I got the recipe from a friend and really enjoyed it. She adds 2 tomatoes, diced and uses 1.5 c oj instead of the 1c oj and 1/2 c water. This soup doesn't look very good (I pureed about 1/2 of it) but it tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PRVRBS31GAL
Living In: Gurnee, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
Wonderful! A bit time consuming to cook it but the flavors are worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
We did the recipe mostly as-is (I don't like peppers, so I skipped the red pepper). Not too salty for us, and the orange juice was perfect. We found that we really liked spreading the (very thick) soup on some bread. It was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States