Braunschweiger and Nut Ball Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
This is yummy. I also added some very finely chopped white onion and a little hot mustard & served it with mini rye bread. Mini Liverwurst & Onion sandwiches :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
My grandmother made this for years. She added chopped onion and 1T lemon juice as well. If you skip the walnuts on top, you can mold this in a salad mold and "frost" with mayo, sour cream or more cream cheese and sprinkle with chopped chives. Thanks for bringing back happy memories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Kotz Walls

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
my hubby likes to make this- not a bit braunschweiger fan myself, but this is pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
Funny reviews!! I've been making this for over 45 years!! It is fantastic!! I've also added some powdered Ranch Dressing mix to it with wonderful results! Yup, it's 'old people's food' - "Get outta here youngin's!" LOL As for the reviewer - 'angelanok' - I bet if the recipe just called for 'Braunschweiger', and not added the words 'liver sausage', both she and her guest would have loved it!! I think her kids must be those proverbially ' PICKY EATERS!! So much for the 'Power of Words'!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2005
I made this for my family, and I didn't really care for it. But I don't really like liver anyway. A couple people really liked it, but the majority voted it a big NO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
A request filled! My mother asked me to find a recipe like she remembered her grandmother making. I definitely thought this was "old-people" food, but everyone loved it including the kids. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
I haven't made this in years. Thanks for the reminder! I used to make it every year for the holidays because my father loved it so much. I use soft cream cheese with chives and onions and only 1 tsp Worcestershire. I also add 1 TBS dry minced onion & 1/4 tsp garlic powder. I roll mine in chopped pecans and serve with wheat crackers. It also freezes well. Oh boy, now I'm really craving this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RICHKAT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RUSSIANBLUE
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
I made this a few times. We are not big fans of cream cheese, both me and my hubby. So I substituted it with plain yogurt. Used less oz than cream cheese so it won't be runny. Serve with crackers. I agree with other reviewers - adding ranch or garlic salt might even improve the dish, but it is really good the way it is. Will try ranch next time. Update - for picture I shaped it like football, dusted with paprika and made "stitches" with squeezable mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Cheese Ball II

See how to make a pecan-studded cheese ball with Cheddar and cream cheese.

Pine Cone Cheese Ball

See how to make a holiday cheese ball that looks like a pine cone.

Chocolate Chip Cheese Ball

It’s like a chocolate cheesecake without all the hard work!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States