Bratwurst, Potato and Cabbage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 5, 2014
Very simple yet so yummy. Here are the changes either out of necessity or I felt I should. I had some leftover brats but not a pound so I fried up 2 bacon strips. Then used the oil from the bacon to saute the onion for 10 minutes. Added some minced garlic and brats and sauteed for a couple more minutes. Substituted 1 cup of water with chicken broth. Only cooked the cabbage for 15 minutes like others suggested. In addition to milk I added a splash of heavy whipping cream because I had some in the fridge. Oh and I threw in a couple sprigs of parsley because I had some. Added quite a bit of salt and some black pepper. Didn't have swiss cheese so I used some parm, but really didn't need it. Thought I would get the raw flour taste but not at all. My boyfriend said "this kitchen sink soup is good." I created an account on this website just so that I can post this review, which is huge. Thanks for all the suggestions and the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
I modified this recipe a tiny bit. Used 1/4 Cup beef broth and broccoli instead of cabbage, already cooked Johnsonville cooked stadium bratwurst. If there were 6 stars I'd give it 6. We loved it and daydreamed about leftovers tonight when we get home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
We had a cold day with several inches of snow on the ground. I had 2 extra hungry young men in addition to my two. I looked in the freezer and saw some brats and knew they couldn't be cooked on the grill because it was covered in snow. Grilling was the only way I have ever had brats. I began searching for a recipe using them and was glad to find this. But I had no cabbage. So I took the brats out of the casings and peeled several large potatoes. I diced them and cooked them in chicken broth, just enough to cover. Diced the onion and put it in there also. Added the cooked meat after I drained it really well. Added heavy cream, salt and pepper and a garlic and herb blend from Wildtree because I have a friend who sells that stuff. I had so much my dutch oven was full. I used about 2 cups or less of heavy cream, 1/2 and 1/2 would have been fine but I needed to use what I had because of the snow storm. That is all I put in it. Served it to my husband and the 4 young men who were here and it was all gone, they loved it. I only got a taste but it was delicious. Was wonderful to find such a great and versatile recipe when I was desperate to feed these man/boys. It was very heavy, perfect for the weather. I wouldn't want to serve it in the summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Overall, this recipe was tasty and hardy. Slightly bland, and the cabbage was still on the crunchier side when I followed the times in the recipe. But my family enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
I was looking for a new bratwurst recipe and I had all the ingredients this recipe called for so I gave it a shot. I was a little hesitant b/c the ingredient combination seemed odd, but I read the reviews and went ahead. I did not use a whole head of cabbage and used chicken stock instead of water. My husband and I liked this, but my kids did not prefer it very much, though they are not picky eaters. It's a hearty soup and perfect with a nice crusty bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
Pretty good, but nothing over the top. It could have used something extra, but maybe using Italian sausage would give it that extra flavor kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
This is a good base soup, but it is bland, you will need to had your own mix to spice it up Enjoyed this soup with Best homemade Bread. Do cook the cabbage with the potatoes together. I did add 2 knorr chicken stock cubes, 2 chopped garlic, 2 tablespoons of Jamaican hot curry powder, 1/2 teaspoon of crushed pepper, salt and pepper to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Somewhat bland . . . missing its umph! Will make it again, but will be adding a bit more spice to it--perhaps some red pepper? The cabbage, itself, was a wonderful surprise that made 'plain jane' potato soup a notch above!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
I made this soup with a few substitutions; homemade chicken broth in stead of water and I didn't have sausage so I used ham instead. Swiss cheese and ham are good together, so it was no exception here. I added salt, pepper, garlic powder and red pepper flakes. One criticism I have is the potatoes cooked down to near nothing...the chunks should have been cut larger (at least 3/4 to 1 in. chunks). My cabbage kept it's form, but I only cooked it 10 min. instead of the 20 min. suggested in the recipe. I do think less cabbage would also be best as it seemed to be very dominant in this soup. I'm not sure if I will make this one again as there are so many other soup recipes to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
Good, I'll definitely make again. I used broth instead of water and did not have swiss cheese, so just omitted that step. It took a while to thicken up, so I might adjust that in the future, but overall was really good. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Porterville, California, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States