Bratwurst, Potato and Cabbage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2000
When I was cooking this it looked odd and I was worried! I added some spices to the recipe. It was delicious! Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2001
Great soup. I used italian sausage and substituted broccoli for the cabbage. Other than that it just needed salt for our taste. My kids and hubby loved it. Next time I'll try it with cabbage and bratwurst
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2001
I was looking for a way to use some leftover Bratwurst Patties and did a search for "bratwurst" on this site. What a hit! Wonderful recipe. My whole family ate it up! I substituted 2 cups of shredded mixed blend cheese (Mont. Jack/Cheddar) instead of the Swiss. And I added 1 teaspoon of curry powder to the mix. A real keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2001
This was delicious! Starts off looking a little weird, but I followed the recipe exactly and it came out great. My finicky 4-year-old, and my husband who despises cabbage, both loved it (me too)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2002
this is good on a cold day.Kids im not sure, they would have to like cabbage!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2002
This was great. Filling, cheap to make, easy! I do think, the cabbage is a little overcooked. I would reduce the last 20 minute simmer to about 10. Also, next time, I will find a less spicy sausage. We used one, and it had too much kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rosiella

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2002
Substituted broccoli for cabbage, and 1/2 cheddar 1/2 mozzarella for swiss cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2003
My family LOVES cabbage, so this recipe already started out on the right foot! I followed the recipe, except for following Holly's suggestion of using sweet italian sausage instead of bratwurst (a favorite of my husband's). We will surely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2003
I LOVE this soup! I actually made it for dinner for my boyfriends family! What a hit! Now they ask me to make it all the time. I'm not a fan of Swiss cheese, so I use Cooper Sharp instead. Cooper is a wonderful compliment to the bratwurst flavor. This soup is almost a stew. Absolutely great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Douglassville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2004
I'm sorry, but my family hated this soup. I rarely ever toss out food (too cheap), but this has got to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States