Bratwurst, Potato and Cabbage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Just made this for the second time this week by request. I cut the cabbage a little larger this time and added a few more potatoes. Forgot to grab swiss cheese tonight but gratted some colby jack. I think you could use your favorite cheese for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
This is a keeper! I sauteed the onions first and added garlic. The sausage I had on hand was mixed with mozzarella, so I didn't add the swiss. I will try that next!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
Wow. This was extremely good. I say "was" because the double portion I made is pretty much gone. I used 1.5 pkg of brats (1.24lbs ea.). I used 2/3 head of cabbage, 3 large potatos, 1 onion, and I added 2 huge handsful of fresh brusselsprouts (halved), 6C milk, 1/4C flour, and seasoned to taste. Wow. wow wow wow. My high school sophomore son said "no no no" as I was cooking it. He was upset I was making a soup out of the brats. But we heard nothing but silence (with slurping) at the dinner table. Excellent recipe. Thanks so much. The 2 yr old and the 5 yr old devoured 2 bowls each. Loved it. Can't say enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Server33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
An excellent soup. The mix of flavors and textures is very rich. I always make enough to share with friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
We know our bratwurst in Wisconsin and this recipe is a definite keeper. I added some liquid smoke and some green tabasco sauce, my 2 new secret ingredients. Loved this soup! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Saugatuck, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
Used lamb bratwurst, potato, kohlrabi, milk, and cheddar and it was flawless. It's hard to go wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
A very hearty meal. I used a turkey bratwurst and in doing so I needed to add a bit more spice. A little bit of pepper and Tony's really made this meal. My husband and I really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by novice cook1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
This was delicious! I used breakfast sausage because that was all I had and also threw in some frozen corn. Our guests loved it and said they were impressed with it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redding, California, USA
Living In: Middleton, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
I was looking for cabbage recipes to use up the cabbage from my garden. My husband thought it was one of the best soups I ever made. My son wanted the recipe so he could make it at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
Very good! I made it last night for a work function and just had to taste test it. I think my coworkers will love it! I was concerned with the lack of spices, but the cheese and bratwurst provide enough salt and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becca Miller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States