Bratwurst, Potato and Cabbage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Just made this for the second time this week by request. I cut the cabbage a little larger this time and added a few more potatoes. Forgot to grab swiss cheese tonight but gratted some colby jack. I think you could use your favorite cheese for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
This is a keeper! I sauteed the onions first and added garlic. The sausage I had on hand was mixed with mozzarella, so I didn't add the swiss. I will try that next!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
Wow. This was extremely good. I say "was" because the double portion I made is pretty much gone. I used 1.5 pkg of brats (1.24lbs ea.). I used 2/3 head of cabbage, 3 large potatos, 1 onion, and I added 2 huge handsful of fresh brusselsprouts (halved), 6C milk, 1/4C flour, and seasoned to taste. Wow. wow wow wow. My high school sophomore son said "no no no" as I was cooking it. He was upset I was making a soup out of the brats. But we heard nothing but silence (with slurping) at the dinner table. Excellent recipe. Thanks so much. The 2 yr old and the 5 yr old devoured 2 bowls each. Loved it. Can't say enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Server33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
An excellent soup. The mix of flavors and textures is very rich. I always make enough to share with friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
We know our bratwurst in Wisconsin and this recipe is a definite keeper. I added some liquid smoke and some green tabasco sauce, my 2 new secret ingredients. Loved this soup! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Saugatuck, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
Used lamb bratwurst, potato, kohlrabi, milk, and cheddar and it was flawless. It's hard to go wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
A very hearty meal. I used a turkey bratwurst and in doing so I needed to add a bit more spice. A little bit of pepper and Tony's really made this meal. My husband and I really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by novice cook1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
This was delicious! I used breakfast sausage because that was all I had and also threw in some frozen corn. Our guests loved it and said they were impressed with it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redding, California, USA
Living In: Middleton, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
I was looking for cabbage recipes to use up the cabbage from my garden. My husband thought it was one of the best soups I ever made. My son wanted the recipe so he could make it at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
Very good! I made it last night for a work function and just had to taste test it. I think my coworkers will love it! I was concerned with the lack of spices, but the cheese and bratwurst provide enough salt and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becca Miller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Irish Bacon and Cabbage Soup

Vegetable soup made decadent with bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States