Bratwurst, Potato and Cabbage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
I made this soup with a few substitutions; homemade chicken broth in stead of water and I didn't have sausage so I used ham instead. Swiss cheese and ham are good together, so it was no exception here. I added salt, pepper, garlic powder and red pepper flakes. One criticism I have is the potatoes cooked down to near nothing...the chunks should have been cut larger (at least 3/4 to 1 in. chunks). My cabbage kept it's form, but I only cooked it 10 min. instead of the 20 min. suggested in the recipe. I do think less cabbage would also be best as it seemed to be very dominant in this soup. I'm not sure if I will make this one again as there are so many other soup recipes to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
Good, I'll definitely make again. I used broth instead of water and did not have swiss cheese, so just omitted that step. It took a while to thicken up, so I might adjust that in the future, but overall was really good. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Porterville, California, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
I made this in my slow cooker this morning. I cut the brats into 1inch pieces and then browned them. I added all of the ingredients except for the 1cup of milk and the flour and let it cook on low all day. I thickened it when I got home from work. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
This recipe was a hit. Though I will probably cook the bratwurst so that it is slightly crunchy. That way it will be a little less mushy in the soup. Great taste with the swiss cheese....yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rockymtnmare

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jackiek82

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
this was delicious - my whole picky family loved it! I tried to follow the recipe exactly, but I made 3 changes out of necessity. I had celery that was past its prime, so I added it to sneak in some more vegetables. I doubled the recipe and substituted 2 C water for 2 C chicken broth. My husband is allergic to nitrites and nitrates and I could not find bratwurst without them, but I did find ham without. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
Loved ths soup! Only things I did different was I used Keilbasa instead of the bratwurst, cheddar cheese instead of Swiss, and added a bit more water when simmering cabbage and potato. Will be making again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Very tasty and healthy soup. It met the expectations of all my guests and was easy to spice up with some red pepper flakes! Great for a chilled day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by justanotherrodeogirl
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
i make this soup alot but at times i make it my fast easy way i use 3 cups stock chicken or veggie,1 lb of any sausage 1 onion 1 head cabbage and 3 oz parm cheese and for all thoes that have issues with roux i use 1 cup instant mashed potatoes i do that also with clam chowder it donesnt separate and makes it always look white and creamy but as is if you are not one to over cook an burn a roux this is good as it stands,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
Very good! Fresh brats definitely help with the flavor of this recipe. I live in Wisconsin...so they are readily available. I used a little more water, but I think that was needed because of the amount of potatos I put in. I also added some s&p, and red pepper flakes. This was great. The ratios can easily be adjusted. Definitely a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elkhorn, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States