Brandy's Blackberry Cobbler Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
Loved it but just not sweet enough. Next time I'm going to add more sugar. I also changed it a little. I like crust on the bottom too so I used crust on bottom and top (store bought). Also painted a little milk and sugar on top before cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Andrew's Mommy
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
Very good, easy recipe. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrew's Mommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Telford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
I pick lots of wild blackberries every year. This will be my go to recipe from now on. I did use a little less butter on the top of pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Betsy
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
Put the pie crust on the bottom & add a delicious gooey top that covers it all! This recipe has a superb berry mixture but I cooked my homegrown blackberries on med low with the sugar, 1/2 the water, tsp of vanilla, dash of lemon juice, dash of cinnamon, & dash of nutmeg first. Added the flour & rest of water for last few min & it thickened up perfect. After reading reviews about how this version didn't have enough topping, I read a peach cobbler recipe here, & a man adjusted one to include his grandmother's top-and it's what I have been searching for, the traditional gooey type. I put this recipe's rolled crust on the bottom of a large Pyrex casserole bowl, next scooped (spatula needed) the berry mixture onto the crust, then layered 1 1/2 cups of each on top: flour, sugar & milk-Sprinkling some of each alternately, then dotted it with butter all over (about 4-6 tablespoons). Baked uncovered at 400 for 40 min. & then lowered temp to 350 for another 20 min or until it started to brown & turn solid on top. Fantastic texture & best ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betsy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mannford, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by misspriss54
Reviewed: May 17, 2014
OMG. Simple, quick and down right delicious!!!! Love it. I topped it with with cool whip and it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
Good recipe. I made a couple of minor changes. The dough was a bit too stiff and dry, especially after refrigerating so I added another 3 TBS of ice water. I used less water (only 1/4 cup in the blackberries and added about a TBS of lemon juice and a tsp of vanilla. I also used slightly less sugar (about 1 cup) just because I don't like it really sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
This was very good and easy to make. I doubled the recipe and added a couple tablespoons of lemon juice so it wasn't overly sweet and it turned out perfect. My berries where very juice so I did not add the 3/4 cup of water. Again it turned out perfect. Will definitely be making this for years to come. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
Very good! I will make this again and again. I used only one cup of sugar and a squeeze of lemon, just perfect! We top ours with ice cream so it needs to be a little on the sour side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GinKin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
Made this recipe last night and it was PERFECT! I have been looking for the perfect cobbler topping and this is it!! The crust was rich and tender and the berries were sweetened exactly right. (I used fresh berries from a local farm) Served with vanilla ice cream but this cobbler is so good you can eat it plain and be happy:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
Took this to a July 4th celebration last night. It was a huge hit. It is almost exactly like my mother's recipe. So happy to find it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Blackberry Cobbler II

Watch how to make this easy dessert.

Very Best Blueberry Cobbler

A gooey blueberry cobbler with a light, cakey topping.

Best Ever Blueberry Cobbler

This cobbler is bursting with blueberry flavor, a great summer dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States