Brandy Simple Syrup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
great option for adding moisture to a layered cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
I used Rum. it was great. I gave my cake an added taste and kept it moist. I also used about double the lemon zest, cos I really like the flavor and it turned out excelent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gcheaddress
Home Town: Poplar, Montana, USA
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
Don't know what it's supposed to be like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debby Meese

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Battle Lake, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
Made this using amaretto instead of brandy, and it was wonderful. It kept the cake very, very moist. Everyone raved about how good it was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
This was the first time I had heard of doing this and was unsure how much to brush on my cake.. . went with my gut. Got rave reviews for moistness. Liked the suggestion of using amaretto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
I used amaretto instead of the brandy because I had an almond filling in my petit fours. It went very well! I did boil it all together also to reduce the alcohol since I was making them for a youngsters birthday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bizzymomma

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
I used peach schnapps instead of brandy to brush a white cake with. Came out wonderful, and I can definitely see using leftovers in drinks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
very yummy! I used this on a wedding cake I was baking & it kept it so moist & gave it a fresh flavor. I didn't use the brandy however, but it was still wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STEPHCAMP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
very good. I used this for a wedding cake I made for my sister. turned out wonderful :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eliece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Grampa's Brandy Alexander

Creme de cacao, chocolate syrup and ice cream make a super-rich cocktail.

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States