Brandy Simple Syrup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
great option for adding moisture to a layered cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
I used Rum. it was great. I gave my cake an added taste and kept it moist. I also used about double the lemon zest, cos I really like the flavor and it turned out excelent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gcheaddress
Home Town: Poplar, Montana, USA
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
Don't know what it's supposed to be like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debby Meese

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Battle Lake, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
Made this using amaretto instead of brandy, and it was wonderful. It kept the cake very, very moist. Everyone raved about how good it was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
This was the first time I had heard of doing this and was unsure how much to brush on my cake.. . went with my gut. Got rave reviews for moistness. Liked the suggestion of using amaretto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
I used amaretto instead of the brandy because I had an almond filling in my petit fours. It went very well! I did boil it all together also to reduce the alcohol since I was making them for a youngsters birthday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bizzymomma

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
I used peach schnapps instead of brandy to brush a white cake with. Came out wonderful, and I can definitely see using leftovers in drinks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
very yummy! I used this on a wedding cake I was baking & it kept it so moist & gave it a fresh flavor. I didn't use the brandy however, but it was still wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STEPHCAMP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
very good. I used this for a wedding cake I made for my sister. turned out wonderful :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eliece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Grampa's Brandy Alexander

Creme de cacao, chocolate syrup and ice cream make a super-rich cocktail.

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States