Brandy or Rum Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
We paired pecans with brandy, because our tree just gave a ton this year. The results were pretty good, but I think it should be a tiny bit more chocolate tasting and, perhaps, a tad more brandy. I will play around with this recipe a bit. Don't get me wrong, it is an excellent basic recipe, but it can be done just a bit. But, for not a whole lot of hassle, I am really happy with this recipe. Yes, I would recommend this to a friend. Sometimes these desserts are like burgers and burritos; everyone's got their own version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
WOWO WOW WOW, TOO MUCH RUM. CUT WAY BACK ON THE AMOUNT, YOU CAN ALWAYS INCREASE. I HAD TO ADD A LOT OF CRUMBS AND POWDERED SUGAR TO TRY TO TONE IT DOWN, OTHERWISE VERY GOOD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tiburon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
i used kahlua and dipped in white chocolate
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
Really good-not too sweet and not too boozy. I refrigerated my chocolate mixture for about an hour before rolling into balls and into chopped walnuts. I skipped the confectioner's sugar. The food processor is a life saver with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
I thought that these were good, but nothing special. Easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
I din't care too much for these. I made the brandy ones because my mother-in-law loves brandy. They were strong little guys that could knock you out!! I did use 2 boxes of vanilla wafers when the reciepe called for 1.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
great made with rum!!! the whole family (except the children) really enjoyed!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
the two stars is FOR MYSELF. i'm making this at the moment and for some reason, it's not exactly hardening for me to roll into balls. the only thing i did different is the wafers, which i crushed by hand, so of course there were some chunks here and there. but then i took the entire mixture and blended by blender, so it's just a liquid mess at this point. what did i do wrong??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
Very tastey! I followed some ideas of the others and added some of the walnuts to the mixture. I only found a 12 oz. box of Nilla Wafers so that's all I used. Chopped the Nilla Wafers and the nuts in a grinder for my own sanity. I also made sure to refrigerate the chocolate mix before forming the balls. I used a "tiny ice cream scoop" with the release handle and it formed perfect shapes. I dropped the balls into a bowl of confectioners sugar and nuts and swirled them around for a good coating. I fit about 4 into the bowl. Worked great and not too messy. I will make these again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
These came out good. I did chill the mixture for a few minutes before attempting to roll, otherwise it would have been too messy. I also think the next time I will mix some of the chopped nuts IN to the chocolate and nilla wafer mixture - they just didnt stick that well to the out side of the balls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Commack, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Holiday Rum Balls

Make this classic holiday treat using leftover brownies!

Buckeye Balls II

Watch how to make this peanut butter and chocolate candy.

Grampa's Brandy Alexander

Creme de cacao, chocolate syrup and ice cream make a super-rich cocktail.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States