Brandied Shrimp with Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
This was a HUGE hit at my house! Made the shrimp and served as appetizer on Christmas Eve and then made another time over pasta. Followed recipe as written and it was rich and flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
This was excellent! I was looking for a recipe using shrimp and basil as I had some of both that needed to be used up. I had never "caught my food on fire" while preparing before, so it was fun when I lit the brandy on fire. :) I was a little skeptical when I was ready to serve it as the sauce seemed so thin. No worries - it was perfect and stuck to my pasta just fine. My husband really loved it - he made many comments, all positive. I used garlic parsley noodles and I believe that added some additional great flavor to this meal. I will be making this again and probably for company!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mother Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streetsboro, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
This recipe has fabulous flavor. It doesn't LOOK like it when you see the ingredient list, but it's truly good. I adjusted some of the ingredient amounts after reading reviews, but still used every ingredient without substitution; so it's still 5 stars. These are the changes I made and WILL make next time I prepare this. 1) reduce the pasta to 8 ounces. The pasta to shrimp ratio is lopsided otherwise. 2) reduce the olive oil to 2 tbsp, which is plenty. 3) increase to THREE tomatoes 4) reduce butter to 2 tbsp 5) double the Parmesan cheese. If you don't reduce the amount of olive oil and butter, you end up with this dish swimming in liquid. I like my pasta dishes not so wet, so the Parmesan can stick better. The Parmesan amount being doubled is just our preference - we like lots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
Great recipe. Easy and delicious.. Cut the butter in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
I had some shrimp I wanted to use so I made sure I had everything called for to make this dish. The kitchen smelled wonderful while I was cooking and the meal was absolutely 1st class. I have been watching what I eat (trying to keep trim) but I blew it big time with this. My hubby and I ate the whole thing. (I know...) I didn't change a thing and will be not changing a thing in the future when we enjoy it again. Thanks Steve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ev's Corner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Point Edward, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
Good flavor but, sauce was WAY too thin. The brandy also added very little flavor for the trouble it was to ignite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
Sooo good! And fairly easy. I was a little confused because I thought the Brandy was going to "burn" while I cooked for 2 minutes, but it flamed and quickly died out. Love it, will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedarburg, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
This was pretty good, but left me wondering: was the flambé really necessary? There was one shrimp that was slightly more brown when the fire died down, but otherwise I didn't notice a difference. That said, it was pretty tasty and maybe a little bland. Not sure if I'd make it again without some modifications, but I'm pretty proud of myself for flambéing for the first time without burning the house down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cuddlebugs333

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
Pretty good, but I thought the shrimp were a bit over cooked, so I sauted them with the onions and garlic seperately, then added them to the rest of the sauce with two minutes to go there. I also thought a quarter cup of butter and Basil was far too much. I halved those. Other wise great taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
I loved this recipe. I had 1/2'd the recipe as I am the only one who likes shrimp in my family. Did not have brandy on hand but used Whiskey instead. Will make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Angel Hair Pasta with Shrimp and Basil

A foolproof shrimp and pasta dish that’s super quick and easy.

Angel Hair Pasta with Garlic Shrimp and Broccoli

This pasta dish is brimming with shrimp, broccoli, and garlicky goodness.

Tri-Color Penne Pasta Salad with Shrimp

See how to make a colorful shrimp salad with grape tomatoes and penne pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States